The Best Budget Spin Bikes 2023 – Get Quality For Little Money

Are you looking for a budget indoor cycling bike for your home gym and want to know what are the best options for those on the budget? You landed in the very right place.

We picked the best value budget spin bikes that won’t break your bank account while allowing you to pedal your way to your dream shape.

Across a wide range of fitness equipment brands, I tried a wide range of indoor bikes to find the best value and most affordable indoor cycling bikes that can offer a decent indoor cycling experience.

In this buying guide and comparison article, you’re going to get all the information that you are going to need in order to make an informed decision when buying an affordable indoor cycle.

In addition to a detailed review of each affordable indoor bike, I also included my verdict and comparison table so you can get your answer quickly.

Our comprehensive budget indoor bike buyers guide not will not only show you the list of low-cost indoor cycling bikes but also teaches you what to look for when you want to buy a budget-friendly spin bike for your home.

You will also learn what indoor cycle accessories to consider when you are on a budget and want to buy a less expensive spin bike for your home gym.

Without further ado, here’s a list of the best moderately priced indoor cycling bikes on the market in 2023. This should help you find the best value piece of home gym equipment without breaking your budget.

$499.99
in stock
2 used from $415.19
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am
Amazon.com
$1,197.00
in stock
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am
Amazon.com
$269.99
in stock
1 used from $259.27
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am
Amazon.com
$249.00
$549.00
in stock
5 new from $197.01
5 used from $186.82
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am
Amazon.com
$369.00
in stock
3 used from $247.78
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am
Amazon.com
$334.49
$529.99
in stock
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am
Amazon.com
$139.99
in stock
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am
Amazon.com
Last updated on January 27, 2023 6:26 am

Best Budget Spin Bikes Compared

Comparison Table For The Best Budget Spin Bikes
NameCapacityFlywheelMechanismMonitorPedalsApplicationsHandlebars
Echelon EX15 Indoor Exercise Bike300 Lbs - 5.1 to 6.2 Feet20 Lbs - child safe covered flywheel32 Level Manual Magnetic Resistance & Belt DriveConsole not included but sensors track: RPM, resistance, watt, Time, distance, scan, speed, and caloriesToe cage pedalsEchelon, Zwift, Peloton, Kinomap, Strava, and more through the QZ app.Good handlebars but tablet holder blocks the Aero grips.
Horizon 5.0 Magnetic spin bike For Home250 Lbs - 5.2 to 6.4 Feet28 Lbs100 Level Electronic Magnetic Resistance & Belt DriveA console included that tracks RPM, resistance, watt, Time, distance, scan, speed, and caloriesClip in and toe cage pedalsZwift, Peloton, Kinomap, and many more through the QZ appGreat handlebars and tablet holder doesn't block the grips.
Bancon Indoor Cycle W/ Heavy Flywheel300 Lbs - 5.2 to 6.1 Feet35 Lbs8 Level Manual Magnetic Resistance & Belt DriveA console included that tracks RPM, resistance, watt, Time, distance, scan, speed, and caloriesToe cage pedalsZwift, Peloton, Kinomap, and many more through the QZ appNo Aero grips and tablet holder blocks the grips.
WHMH low-cost Indoor Cycling Bike300 Lbs - 5.1 to 6.3 Feet30 Lbs14 Level Manual Magnetic Resistance & Belt DriveConsole not included but sensors track: RPM, resistance, watt, Time, distance, scan, speed, and caloriesToe cage pedalsMyCloudFitness, Zwift, Peloton, Kinomap, and many more through the QZ appGreat handlebars and tablet holder doesn't block the hand positions.
Yesoul Belt Driven Spin Bike260 Lbs - 5.2 to 6.1 Feet10 Lbs100 Level Manual Magnetic Resistance & Belt DriveConsole not included but sensors track: RPM, Resistance, Calories, time, speed, and distanceToe cage pedalsYesoul, Zwift, Peloton, Kinomap, and many more through the QZ appNo Aero grips and using a tablet can limit the hand grips.
DMASUN Budget Spin Bike For Home300 Lbs - 5 to 6.3 Feet40 LbsUnmarked Manual Magnetic Resistance & Belt DriveA console included that tracks time, distance, scan, speed, and caloriesToe cage pedalsNoneGood handlebars with racing grips but tablet holder blocks the Aero bars.
Cavalier Fitness Budget Indoor Cycling Bike330 Lbs - 5 to 6 Feet40 LbsUnmarked Manual Magnetic Resistance & Belt DriveA console included that tracks speed, time, distance, calories, and pulseToe cage pedalsNoneGreat handlebars and tablet holder but short aero grips.

Editor’s Affordable Indoor Cycling Bike Choice

Down below I already reviewed and compared 7 budget exercise bikes that I think are great value and don’t compromise on quality. But after a detailed comparison between all these affordable indoor bikes I came to the conclusion that one bike, the Horizon 5.0 IC in particular, is the best value affordable exercise among all.

It has a decent flywheel and sealed bearings that have less maintenance because dust can’t get in to make the bike noisy. Plus, its flywheel is precisely machine balanced which makes it smoother compared to other budget exercise bikes I tried.

Additionally, the Horizon Fitness 5.0 exercise bike has unbeatable built quality among affordable exercise bikes. Its bearings are sealed, and its knobs are of good quality that keeps the posts solid in place so there is no wobble which can be really annoying.

Also, the actual design of the Horizon Fitness 5.0 budget stationary bike is well thought out. Even though its handlebars aren’t adjustable horizontally, I had no problem achieving a decent bike fit.

But the most important reason that I decided it was the best affordable exercise bike I have ever used was its electronic magnetic resistance that has the ability to automatically change on Zwift and other compatible apps.

It also has Bluetooth and accurate data-tracking sensors. So, right out of the box it connects as speed, cadence, and power to Zwift. If you use the QZ application as a bridge, you will be able to connect the bike with Peloton, Kinomap, and Strava.

To the Peloton on an ios device, it only connects as a cadence which is a Peloton limitation but to Zwift, you should be able to connect the Horizon Fitness 5.0 IC budget spin bike as cadence, speed, power, and heart rate via a separate heart rate monitor armband.

I also like the fact that I don’t need to use my own tablet to see my progress as the console on the bike has a backlight and provides the ride information clearly. The screen could have been a little bigger but that’s asking too much for a budget exercise bike.

Don’t get me wrong, the other 9 bikes that I reviewed are some of the best budget exercise bikes but they don’t offer as much as the Horizon 5.0 does. It’s a completely affordable spin bike that often costs between $399 to $499 and doesn’t sacrifice quality.

Pros
Cons
Horizon Fitness 5.0 Indoor Cycling Review
Echelon Horizon 5.0 Indoor Bike
Sayed’s Choice For Budget Spin Bike
Check Prices
Pros
Excellent quality and has a good design. Bluetooth technology transmits resistance level, watt, cadence, and speed to Zwift, Echelon, Kinomap, and Peloton applications. Low maintenance drive. Electronic magnetic resistance for Zwift auto-resistance through the QZ app. A backlit console. Dual-sided pedals for regular and cycling shoes. Tablet holder and dipped handlebars.
Cons
Handlebars don’t adjust horizontally. The console is small.

An overview of the best budget exercise bikes in 2023:

1. Echelon EX15 Belt Drive Indoor Cycling Bike

 in stock
2 used from $415.19
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am

When looking to buy a good budget indoor cycle, the Echelon EX15 is one of your best bets on the market in 2023. On Google, you have the option to find and buy this budget indoor bike in brand-new conditions with free shipping.

It is one of the top 5 spin bikes under $500 with the combination of some unique features that can only be found on this bike for the price. I will go through all the aspects including the pros and cons of this budget bike.

Before that, it’s important that you know, Echelon has 6 different indoor bikes and the EX15 is the company’s most affordable option with the least features. The best indoor bike by Echelon is the EX7 which costs a whopping $2000 because it has a commercial-quality structure, a 22-in HD screen, and electronic resistance.

I am not crazy about the Echelon EX7 because it’s too expensive and doesn’t have enough to justify its price tag. However, I did like the Echelon EX3 indoor bike. It is $200 more expensive than the Echelon EX15 but has three superior features that will immediately make up for the extra money.

The Echelon EX3 has a better tablet holder, SPD pedals, and electronic resistance so it does automatic resistance change on Zwift and Peloton. If you think $699 is an affordable price for you to invest in a spin bike, I strongly recommend that you buy the EX3 instead of the EX15. But if you want to spend less, stick with the EX15.

This affordable exercise bike comes with a 20 pounds flywheel providing a natural and smooth pedal stroke while keeping the lighter and easier to move. The weight of the flywheel is light but when you add resistance, you can get the feel for climbing a steep hill.

Although the resistance is enough for any mid-level cyclist, the inertia is less because the flywheel is not heavy. So, it stops turning quicker against resistance compared to a 48-pound flywheel like the one on the Sole SB900.

On the good side, the lighter flywheel has less impact so there is less pressure on your hips, knees, and ankles.

The sturdy frame and durable parts can withstand up to 300-pound weight and from 5.1 to 6.2 feet tall riders. The corrosion resistance matt color adds to your home decoration and protects the bike against humidity and scratches.

It has a belt drive mechanism that makes the bike quieter compared to chain-drive cycles. The belt drive will eventually wear out too but it can be replaced with any belt-compatible belt of the same size.

At least while it is working, it doesn’t need frequent adjusting, maintenance, and lubrication. The actual belt on the EX15 has grooves and it is thicker than many exercise bikes I tried for under $1000. If you are a beginner or a senior, there is enough belt durability on the Echelon EX15 to last at least 5 years.

But if you are an advanced cyclist or a younger person, you will probably need to change the belt after 2-3 years. It all depends on how often and how intense you are planning to use this affordable exercise bike.

For resistance, the EX15 has a strong magnetic resistance system with 32 gear levels. It is much better than friction resistance because it has less maintenance and makes less noise compared to some other budget indoor cycling bikes.

Its resistance is adjustable through the knob on the frame and there is no electronic motor attached to the resistance. So, the bike can’t do automatic resistance changes on Peloton or Zwift app when you hit an uphill or downhill.

Although I had the Echelon EX15 for only a couple of weeks, I know its resistance will never wear out because it is magnetic and not a wool pad to create friction.

Even if you decide not to buy the EX15, I highly suggest that you stick with magnetic resistance when buying a budget exercise bike.

Because there is no way that adjustable resistance based on friction is going to work long-term. After a while, it’s going to wear out, and there is often no replacement brake pad included with friction indoor bikes.

If you want something that simulates real riding, spend a bit more money and buy magnetic resistance or put a trainer on the back wheel of a real bicycle.

Considered one of the best spin bikes for home use under $500, the EX15 belt drive indoor cycling bike has a fully adjustable seat. The range of adjustment is pretty good and the quality of the seat is not bad at all.

But as well all know there is no one-seat-fits-all even when it comes to the best affordable spin bikes. So, based on your hip shape and riding style, you might have to replace the seat with a more comfortable exercise saddle for your needs.

Or you might need to add a seat gel cover to increase the amount of padding to avoid saddle soreness during longer spin bike workouts. I suggest not buying a replacement seat or cover until you use the bike for a while and see if you actually need it.

That said, I couldn’t recommend enough wearing proper indoor cycling shorts and clothing. In most cases, a pair of spinning shorts will help you save money on accessories and additional costs.

The handlebars are vertically adjustable but would have been better if they were also horizontally adjustable because sometimes you might want to bring the handles close to the seat so you can set them in a more relaxed position.

Unfortunately, the lack of horizontal adjustment is a common issue on many of the best cheap exercise bikes I tried. Thankfully the Echelon EX15 bike’s handlebars vertically adjust at the same angle as the saddle so even though you can bring them close to the saddle, the bike still accommodates everyone from petite to tall.

If the handlebars and seat were adjusted vertically in a “V” shape like Keiser M3, the lack of horizontal adjustment could have been a deal breaker.

I do like the fact that the handlebars are dipped and don’t get slippery when you sweat. Plus, it offers multiple positions to avoid hand numbness during longer rides.

There is no console on the bike but it does have wireless sensors built into the bike’s drive. These sensors have the ability to track and transmit your workout progress including speed, RPM, power, resistance level, time, distance, and calories.

You can use an ios or android device to download the Echelon fit app and start pedaling to connect the bike to your phone via Bluetooth. To see your progress and to watch a couple of pre-workout cycling classes, you don’t need to subscribe.

You can use the Echelon’s Free Ride version which does have annoying ads. But if you want to join live and thousands of on-demand classes without ads, you will need the paid Echelon subscription which costs $39 per month.

Using the QZ application as a bridge, you will have the ability to track and synch your cycling data to the Zwift, Peloton, Strava, and other indoor cycling applications. It is incredibly handy, especially if you decide to follow online spin classes.

Other features of this affordable spin bike include an excellent tablet holder, a water bottle holder, adjustable toe cage pedals, transport wheels, and base levelers.

Overall a great value bargain spin bike especially for a Peloton hack bike. My only wish would be for an electronic magnetic system to change resistance when I do power zone rides on Peloton. Also a slightly heavier flywheel would have been great.

Specs
Overall Dimensions: 42L x 20W x 53H.
Max weight supporting capacity: 300 lb.
Product weight: 90 lb.

Positive
  • Quiet Belt Drive and Magnetic Resistance System
  • Fully covered child-safe flywheel design
  • Sturdy Frame & Solid Construction
  • Excellent large tablet holder
  • Bluetooth technology and RPM, speed, and resistance metrics
  • 1 Year warranty for the whole bike
Negatives
  • No built-in computer on the bike
  • No SPD elements on the pedals
  • Handlebars don’t adjust horizontally
  • QZ app is needed to connect the bike to non-echelon apps
  • Flywheel is light and weighs 20-lb

2. Horizon Fitness 5.0 Indoor Cycle with Automatic Resistance

 in stock
Amazon.com
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am

This budget Horizon indoor cycling machine brings convenience and comfort to your everyday training sessions.

The Horizon Fitness IC 5.0 comes with a belt transmission and a solid 28 lb flywheel for strengthening your leg muscles and providing an incredibly smooth ride every time.

Although most affordable exercise bikes only have thick flywheels with resistance being applied from the top, this Horizon Fitness 5.0 IC has a more precisely balanced thinner flywheel that I found really smooth.

The magnets are located on the side of the flywheel which means the flywheel has to be balanced properly and the bearings have to be solid.

Horizon Fitness has many fitness types of equipment but there are only two indoor cycles in their IC series. The IC 5.0 and the IC 7.0 which is the more expensive model with larger console and better handlebars that can adjust forward and backward for a more comfortable spin bike setup.

I would personally suggest the Horizon 7.0 IC if you can afford the $700 price tag but if you have a smaller budget to buy an exercise bike, the Horizon 5.0 IC is one of your top deals on the market.

The frame of this model is lighter than many other budget exercise bikes – it can hold up to 250 lbs of user weight and is made of high-quality stainless steel. It’s easier to move around but at the same time, it’s also less sturdy than a bike like Nordictrack S22i that weighs 150+ lb and can withstand up to 350 user weight.

Although the handlebars are only horizontally adjustable, the seat is 4-way adjustable for better convenience and proper posture of the user. The reason that you can get a good bike fit despite the lack of horizontal adjustment is the vertical angle adjustment.

When you rais the handles vertically, they go in the same angle as the seat does. If it was like the Bancon bike or Yesous S3 bike with a V frame, the lack of horizontal adjustment could have been a concern for some users, especially shorter riders or those with shorter arms.

If you prefer to adjust the bike to do semi-upright relaxed workouts sometimes, I suggest you get an upright exercise bike like Nautilus U618. It allows you to bring the handlebars closer to the seat so you can set in a more comfortable upright position while cycling but it’s not as effective for burning calories as a spin bike like Horizon 5.0 IC.

You can use the Horizon Fitness 5.0 indoor bike on your own or share it with your family members for efficient and comfortable training sessions as long as you are not shorter than 5.2 feet or taller than 6.4 feet.

Additionally, this budget spin bike also features reliable toe-cage pedals with SPD clip in options. So, you can choose the way you want to ride without having to spend on SPD pedals. I didn’t see such dual-sided SPD pedals on other best-budget spin bikes that I reviewed and compared.

I highly suggest that you take advantage of the pedals and use a pair of clip in indoor cycling shoes. Not only it will be safer to clip in the pedals but the power strokes are also more efficient so you can push harder and get better results.

When choosing shoes for indoor cycling make sure to get those that fit SPD/MTB cleats because Horizon Fitness pedals are not compatible with Delta and SPD SL cleats. I have written an extensive guide on how to choose indoor cycling shoes, I suggest you read that before getting shoes for this budget exercise bike.

One thing else that I love the most and I didn’t find on any other budget indoor cycle was Horizon Fitness’s 5.0 resistance system. Not only it is magnetic which is virtually silent and extremely low-maintenance, but it is also electronically adjustable.

Its electronic resistance is a huge advantage for this indoor bike because I every other affordable exercise bike I tried and reviewed had manually adjustable magnetic resistance. So, they don’t adjust automatically when you hit an uphill or downhill on Zwift like Horizon Fitness 5.0 does.

There are 100 resistance levels so you have the option to micro-adjust the intensity, unlike WHMH or Bancon bikes that have less than 15 resistance levels.

Plus, it’s easier to follow Peloton classes because they are also based on one hundred levels. So, you don’t need conversation or guessing because the actual gear level is displayed on the bike’s console.

You can adjust the resistance with the controls on the bottom of the console and you can use the knob for an emergency situation to stop the flywheel.

It would have been great if there were resistance control buttons on the handlebars so I didn’t have to move my hands away from the grips. However, I know very well that I can’t expect that feature from a budget spin bike.

Unlike indoor bikes like Peloton, this one actually has an unrestricted Bluetooth protocol that allows connecting to pretty much all indoor cycling apps including Zwift, Kinomap, and Peloton.

Depending on the applications, it can connect as RPM, speed, and power/watt or just RPM in Peloton’s case. No matter which application you like to connect to, I strongly suggest that use the QZ application as a bridge. It opens a whole new world of metrics and possibilities.

Plus, it will enable the bike to do auto-resistance on Zwift which is a pretty cool feature. If you don’t know what Zwift is and how to use it, read my guide on how to start indoor cycling with Zwift. It will help you get started with this awesome indoor cycling software.

The unit also comes with a bottle holder which I wish was closer to the handlebars and easier to reach like those on Joroto X2 indoor bike. Its transport wheels are okay and do what they are meant to do but could have been a little bigger for easier movement.

Although some might find the saddle on this affordable spin bike comfortable, I had to add a saddle cover for additional support. It is a standard saddle with foam, if you want a more comfortable gel seat, you can replace it with one of the Peloton replacement saddles.

They fit this indoor bike without any issues. Whether you change the saddle or not, it’s up to you and how you feel but I highly recommend that you first use the bike with specific indoor cycling clothing. If you still feel uncomfortable, you can then change the saddle or add a seat gel cover.

Specs:
Overall Dimensions: 42L x 21W x 45H.
Max weight supporting capacity: 250 lb.
Product weight: 85 lb.

Positive
  • 28-Pound flywheel weight
  • RPM, resistance level, speed, and watt readings
  • Belt drive magnetic resistance system
  • Dual-sided SPD pedals for cycling shoes and gym shoes
  • 1 Year warranty on all parts
  • Bluetooth and app connectivity
Negatives
  • Handlebars are only vertically adjustable (not horizontally).
  • The monitor is small and doesn’t have built-in backlit.
  • It can only support 250 pounds of user weight.
  • No resistance shifters/controls on the handlebars.

3. Bancon 5A-s Magnetic Indoor Cycling Bike

 in stock
1 used from $259.27
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am

The Bancon indoor exercise bike with a 35-lb inertia-enhanced flywheel is capable of delivering a more natural ride compared to many other on-sale indoor cycles.

I know you might be skeptical that it would be a good investment and not gather dust in 6 months, but for the current price, it’s a great compromise.

The silent and maintenance-free magnetic resistance allows you to easily adjust the intensity of your exercise with a convenient tension lever.

All it takes is a simple push or pull on the lever to choose the difficulty level that is best for you. The lever is also designed as quick-stop braking, by pressing it down you can quickly start and stop at any time.

It’s better than friction resistance budger exercise bikes because it doesn’t need frequent maintenance and it never wears out.

However, it is only manually adjustable so when you connect the bike to Zwift or Peloton, the bike can’t change your resistance automatically to follow virtual cycling class instructors.

The other issue that I had with this affordable magnetic indoor cycling bike was its limited resistance levels. There are only 8 resistance levels, not 32 or 100 levels like Horizon 5.0. So, you would quickly go from zero to steep hill climbing which I found less engaging.

This belt-drive indoor exercise bike provides a quieter and smoother workout compared to other budget exercise bikes that have chain transmission.

As for the saddle, the Bancon spin bike comes allows horizontal and vertical adjustment which is extremely important for a comfortable cycling session. I am 5.7 and was able to adjust the bike just fine.

There was also plenty of room to go lower or higher for riders from 5.2 to 61 feet tall. Although the seat has a soft layer of foam padding, it is not the most comfortable exercise bike saddle that I used.

For optimum comfort and ease during your indoor cycling ride, I suggest that you either add a seat cover or simply search for how to find an exercise bike replacement saddle and get a new saddle.

If this budget spin bike is to be used by one person only at your home, then it’s best that you get an exercise bike replacement seat that is designed for your gender and body shape. Those are better than generic saddles.

The part that I hate the most is the handlebars that go up in the opposite direction of the seat. It’s also not horizontally adjustable which makes it a flaw in the design. When you raise the handlebars, they go further from and you don’t have the option to horizontally adjust them and bring them close to you.

The lack of horizontal adjustment on the handlebars is not a big deal for a budget indoor cycling bike that its seat and handlebars go up and down in the same direction and angle.

For instance, the Echelon EX15 and Horizon 5.0 are totally even without horizontal handlebar adjustment because when you adjust them vertically, they don’t go in a “V” shape.

Their seat and handlebars adjust in an “H” shape so it’s more or less like an actual road bike adjustment. But unfortunately, that’s not the case with the Bancon bike. So, if you have short arms, you may not be very comfortable because you have to extend yourself forward a little too much.

I am glad they dipped the handlebars though. Sometimes for review purposes, I try budget indoor bikes that have foam cover handlebars and they are not comfortable. So, guys at Bancon get a thumbs up for at least making sure the handlebars are well dipped for a dry comfortable grip.

There is also a tablet bracket designed on the handlebars for entertainment while doing indoor cycling exercises. There is no tablet size limit so you can use any model or size of a tablet, phone, or iPad on the bike.

The actual issue that I had with the tablet holder was the fact that it fully blocks the console of the bike. I mean it’s okay when you connect the bike to your tablet and follow on apps like Zwift.

However, if you want to watch Netflix while cycling on your tablet, you won’t be able to see your progress because the console disappears behind the tablet. It’s another flaw in the design that I think Bancon should learn from Horizon Fitness 5.0 IC.

For the money, I think the monitor of the budget indoor bike is not bad, it’s small and a little dark. But at least it’s a multi-functional LCD display that lets you scan cadence, resistance level, power, time, speed, distance, and calories and helps you keep track of your progress.

There are sensors built into the bike that read your cycling performance and wirelessly through Bluetooth send them to cycling apps like Zwift, Peloton, and Kinomap.

You can install any of the applications I mentioned on your phone or tablet, create an account in the app and click sync/connect. Then you wake up the bike’s Bluetooth by pedaling and boom, your app should find the bike and give a pop-up connection suggestion.

I do highly recommend that you use the QZ application on your phone and connect the bike directly to that app first. It’s a bridge that makes your bike fully compatible with Zwift and Peloton but it’s also an application that gives so much information about your ride.

It only costs $5 one-time purchase so there is no monthly or yearly subscription. You might even not need Zwift or any other paid app for cycling aside from the QZ. So, I suggest that you give it a shot as soon as you get the bike.

The magnetic Bancon spin bike also comes with an adjustable base & bottle holders to help you stay hydrated during your ride and fit different ground levels.

The transportation wheels help you effortlessly move the bike and the toe-clip pedals have adjustable straps to lock in your feet to ensure footing and better control.

You can always replace them with two-sided SPD pedals that allow you to maintain constant contact with pedals for better power transfer to these.

This Bancon cheap spin bike also comes with free shipping and it has a 12 months warranty with free replacement parts. Overall, it’s one of the best exercise cycles that lets you enjoy the convenience of working out without leaving the comfort of your own home.

Specs
Overall Dimensions: 48L x 21W x 45H.
Max weight supporting capacity: 300 lb.
Product weight: 70 lb.

Positive
  • Watt, resistance, speed, and cadence tracking.
  • Magnetic resistance and a belt-driven system.
  • Bluetooth to sync with cycling apps.
  • Tablet holder and dual bottle holders.
Negatives
  • Handlebars are not horizontally adjustable.
  • No backlit on the monitor.
  • No SPD elements on the pedals.
  • Only 8 levels of resistance.

4. WHMH Eclipse Indoor Cycling Stationary Bike

 in stock
5 new from $197.01
5 used from $186.82
Amazon.com
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am

This is a great bike in terms of cycling function, but at its original price point of $550, I expect a console and a few other features like spd pedals to be included with the bike.

But if you are lucky like me to find the Eclipse Women’s Health Men’s Health bike when it’s on sale for under $300, you can rest assured that you are getting lots of value for the money.

Currently, the price is so budget-friendly that you don’t have to look for days to find any other discount spin bikes or indoor spin bikes on sale.

It is well adjustable to conveniently accommodate a wide range of user heights from 5.1 to 6.3 feet tall and up to 300 pounds.

Although its seat is hard and not super comfortable, it does adjust both vertically and horizontally to fit the users comfortably without adding unnecessary pressure on the back, arms, and knees.

Plus, it has a standard seat post so you can easily find and replace the seat of the bike if you get excessively saddle sore. Before changing the seat, I suggest that you try to put a gel seat cover as it might be sufficient.

In the linked article, you can get the Zacro Bike Seat Cushion which is 11.4″ long and 10.4″ wide. It fits the seat on the WHMH Eclipse budget indoor bike nicely.

I like the fact that the handlebars are horizontally adjusted and they are dipped which is always better than foam-covered handlebars. Plus, there are multiple hand positions to avoid hand numbness during spin bike workouts.

If its handlebars were also horizontally adjustable to achieve a more comfortable bike fit, I would have probably ranked this budget exercise bike higher. But since it’s only vertically adjustable, I think 4th place in the top 7 budget spin bikes guide is fair.

As for the resistance, the Eclipse budget exercise bike comes with manually adjustable magnetic resistance technology which offers a silent and smooth ride. It requires little to no maintenance and never wears out like friction resistance.

With a simple twist, you can easily switch up the intensity of your cycling workout with a convenient tension knob which is on the right side of the frame and easy to reach.

There are only 14 levels of resistance which I felt wasn’t enough for micro-adjustment but it is still almost double the number of resistance levels that I got with the Bancon bike.

If it was 30+ like the Echelon Sports Connect EX3, it would have been better to increase and decrease the resistance gradually instead of going from easy to hard in a couple of increments.

Anyways, despite its limited 14 levels of resistance, it still allows you to engage in different and unique routines in every indoor workout. By changing the resistance you can do HIIT and mix up your workout to tone up and build muscles.

At the last level, there is plenty of intensity to mimic uphill rides and make the workout challenging. I normally didn’t go above the 12 gear unless I wanted to do strength training.

You can’t ask this bike to automatically change your resistance intensity when cycling on Zwift or Peloton to follow the trainer in the class because the resistance on this bike is not electronically adjustable like the Echelon EX5 is. So, if you like an indoor cycling bike for Zwift with auto-resistance, the WHMH is not the right choice.

They say it has an 8 lb flywheel but I don’t think that’s accurate. It has a cast iron flywheel that feels between 20 to 30 lbs at least. If it was 8 lbs, it would have been much easier to start pedaling and would have had less inertia but it’s the opposite.

That said, it still doesn’t require too much effort to get the pedals moving, especially when you compare it to spin bike flywheels that weigh 40+ pounds.

So, if you have a knee injury or buying a budget spin bike for an elder family member, this would be a better option rather than spin bikes like the Dmasun that have heavy flywheels.

Overall, I am happy with the flywheel of the WHMH Eclipse budget indoor cycling bike because it creates a smooth consistent and enjoyable 360 pedal stroke that is more or less like outdoor biking thanks to its magnetic system.

For transmission, it has a belt which I found to be better than chain transmissions because it doesn’t require oiling or too much maintenance. The mechanism is very smooth and of course, the bike is nearly silent which is a major bonus.

I am not crazy about its pedals though. They only have toe clips and don’t have the cleats to clip in spinning shoes. Thankfully it has the standard thread size (9/16″), so you can replace them with a dual-sided pedal with cleats easily.

That’s if you like to use indoor cycling shoes which I normally use and highly recommend because they are safer and help you perform better on the bike so you burn more calories. Plus, using specific indoor cycling clothing has always helped me feel more comfortable which ultimately improves my performance.

This budget-friendly spin bike doesn’t have a console to show your stats like the Horizon 5.0, Bancon, and Yesouda Pro which is annoying because every time I want to ride the bike, I have to use my phone or tablet.

If you don’t like to use your devices, I suggest you consider another budget spin bike that includes a console. But if you don’t mind using your tablet or phone, I think you will appreciate this bike’s Bluetooth.

It can send your RPM, watt, speed, resistance level, and distance to the Mycloudfitness spin bike workout app. Out of the box, you will be able to sync the mentioned stats to the application of the brand.

However, if you use the QZ application as a bridge, then you can connect this bike to Zwift, Peloton, Fullgaz, Rouvy, Kinomap, iFit, Strava, and a few other fitness cycling apps.

The QZ is on App Store and Play Store, it only costs $5 and it is a one-time purchase. I strongly suggest that you consider using this application with the WHMH bike as it will just give a new life to your machine.

I do like the tablet holder that came with this budget bike because it stands at the correct angle and doesn’t block the handlebars unlike the EX15 and some other bikes on the budget spin bikes buying guide.

Due to the fact that it only has one device shelf, if you need to keep a phone and a tablet on the bike, you will need to consider spending an additional $20 to buy an exercise bike phone holder. But for one device, there is an adjustable and rotatable tablet holder.

There are two silicon wheels that make it effortless to move the bike and transform your home into your own personal fitness studio. After each use, you can simply tilt and roll out for use or away for storage.

All in all, this half-price exercise bike is a good value for the money, especially considering its Bluetooth technology and FitnessCloud app connectivity.

Specs
Overall Dimensions: 55L x 25W x 52H.
Max weight supporting capacity: 300 lb.
Product weight: 89 lb.

Positive
  • Good warranty considering the price
  • Belt Drive and magnetic resistance
  • Nice tablet holder that rotates
  • Good price tag considering the features and competitors
  • RPM, Speed, Watt, and Resistance readings
  • Bluetooth technology and cycling app connectivity
Negatives
  • Pedals can’t fit clipless shoes
  • Two-way adjustable handlebars
  • The bikes don’t have a console
  • No SPD elements on the pedals
  • No automatic resistance change

5. YESOUL G1 (S3) Low-Cost Indoor Cycling Bike

 in stock
3 used from $247.78
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am

To be honest I wasn’t sure if I should review or even include the YESOUL S3 (AKA G1) in the top-budget indoor cycling bikes guide. But after a quick indoor cycling ride, I knew it was one of the best affordable spin bikes that used.

Although not as well designed or sturdy as Echelon EX15 which later I will explain, the Yesoul S3 is still a decent budget indoor bike to consider if you can’t afford the EX15 or Horizon 5.0 IC.

The reason I say it is not as good as the EX15 or 5.0 low-price indoor bikes is the lack of handlebar horizontal adjustment. Normally it’s not a big deal but for Yesould S3 it can be a deal breaker for some users with shorter arms.

It is because they handlebars on this bike don’t adjust straight when you raise the height. They adjust toward the front of the bike so the more you raise the handlebars, the further they get from the seat.

And unfortunately, there is no horizontal adjustment on the handles to bring them closer to the seat so you would have to overstretch forward.

Despite the fact that the WHMH, Horizon, and Echelon indoor bikes don’t allow horizontal adjustment on the handlebars, I never had a problem with them.

It’s because when you raise the handles, they go up straight at the same angle of the saddle like an “H” rather than a “V” which is the case for Yesoul S3.

This design issue limits and makes it uncomfortable for some users to experience all four handlebar positions while cycling indoors.

Plus, it doesn’t have the aero bars that Horizon 5.0 has so your hand grips are only limited to the exterior bars. It also does have a front bar, central/aero, or drop/racing handlebars.

I personally wasn’t really comfortable because I always felt I am leaning too much forward. Maybe it’s because I don’t have the most extended arms but that’s something to keep in mind.

The same thing I felt with Bancon which is one of the good quality indoor cycling bikes under $300 I reviewed recently.

That said, the Yesould S3 has dipped handlebars which I really appreciated during summer rides because they don’t get slippery like those foam handlebars that I found on many low-budget exercise bikes.

In order to make up for the lack of horizontal adjustment and the aero handlebars, they included an awesome tablet holder with the Yesoul S3 which I found to be better than most exercise bike tablet holders I have ever tried.

It fits tablets up to 10 inches and has these safety edges that kept the tablet in place when I was preparing for my first indoor cycling century rides and doing high-intensity sessions.

Unlike Echelon EX15’s tablet holder that blocks the handlebars, the one on the Yesoul stays out of the way and doesn’t block the handlebars.

Plus, it has a better angle to view the screen of your tablet. So, you don’t have to bend your neck down to see the screen.

I wish they also included a phone holder so I could keep both my devices on the bike but for that, I had to get a standard bike phone holder attached to the handlebars.

Yesoul S3 includes a foam padded seat that moves forward/back and up/down to fit different heights or arm lengths. But the actual seat is not really comfortable at least not how I felt on the bike.

After a couple of rides, I felt a bit of saddle sore. I found it hard and a little too narrow in my opinion but that’s subjective to the rider’s liking.

So, I suggest that you try to wear proper indoor cycling shorts and if it still hurts, go ahead and get the Selle Royal seat.

The Moderate saddle by Selle Royal is a great choice, they have it both for men and women. So, if only one person is using the bike, I suggest you get the one for your gender.

It has a 10 lbs flywheel which is a little too light for my taste because I like more inertia and resistance but I found it to be smooth and consistent when pedaling.

On the positive side, its lightweight flywheel has less impact on the knees and feet so you can use the bike even if you don’t have the strongest knees and ankles. It’s easier to get a 10 lb flywheel moving than a 45 lb flywheel.

So, unless you are planning to get ready for steep hill climbing rides or high-intensity cycling workouts, you should be fine with a 10-pound flywheel. But otherwise I suggest that you consider one of the affodable exercise bikes with heavier flywheels that I reviewed for this article. There is a comparsion table above so you can easily find which budget exercise bike has the heaviest flywheel.

This bike is equipped with a good spin bike resistance system which is the famouse magnetic resistance. It has 100 levels/percentage of resistance to create a quiet spinning workout and good momentum for longer periods cycling.

You can change the intensity of your workout with the easy-to-reach tension knob. Unlike Bancon or WHMH, this Yesoul S3 bike allows micro-adjustment so you don’t jump from easy to medium and difficult in half a knob twist.

Unfortunately, the resistance on this bike is only manually adjustable. Therefore, the bike can’t automatically change resistance when you are watching a Peloton class or riding in a Zwift game. The only budget spin bike that does that is the Echelon EX1.

Thankfully, this budget low-priced indoor cycling bike is belt-driven, which means you get to experience a quiet and maintenance-free workout. For sure, it’s better than chain-drive indoor bikes unless you like 100% power efficiency, then a chain-driven spin bike is probably better for you.

On top of that, the Yesoul low-cost spin bike comes with a Bluetooth system that sends your RPM, resistance level, time, speed, watt, distance, and calories to your personal Bluetooth devices.

When buying this Yesoul low-price and competitive indoor exercise bike, you will get free shipping, assembly tools, and an assembly video (you can find it on the Yesoul app and on Youtube).

This Chinese owned company has its own software app which is a little similar to Peloton and Echelon applications but they are much newer and have lots to catch up.

I am happy to see Yesoul is giving a 1-year free app subscription to it’s customers with the “G1 Max” bike. But unfortnetly the 1-year free subscription is not included with this “G1” (S3) model.

Anyways, the Yesoul application works great and is free for some of the classes even if you buy this S3 model. I only used the Yesoul app for free riding but it also offers live and on-demand classes for paid monthly subscription.

I think they have more online classes in China but they are all in Chinese language. If you want to access them with your subscription, you can change your country on the App Store (if you are using the app on an IOS) and you should be able to see the classes.

The bike also pairs with the Peloton and Zwift app without issue especially through the QZ application. I highly recommend that you try to use the QZ as a bridge, it really changes your experince.

But also without the QZ app, Yesoul is compatible with the Zwift unless by the time you reading this best budget exercise bikes guide, something has changed. Just remember when Zwift asks for permission to use location on your phone/tablet, make sure to pick “only when the app is running” and not “always” and it should work without any problem.

There is also an armband heart rate monitor in the box. I found it to be accurate and more comfortable to wear than chest strap heart rate monitors. Much better than the heart rate pulse sensors that are on the handlbears are of Yusuda indoor cycle.

The pedals on this reasonably priced spin bike are toe baskets and not clip in. But they are standard 9/16″. So, you can easily replace them with SPD-compatible pedals if you prefer to wear specific indoor cycling shoes.

Specs
Overall Dimensions: 42.3L x 21W x 45.4H.
Max weight supporting capacity: 265 lb.
Product weight: 79 lb.

Positive
  • Soft Seat Fore/Aft Up/Down Adjustable
  • Belt drive and magnetic resistance system
  • Great value considering the price and features
  • Stainless steel seat and handlebars
  • Bluetooth, RPM, speed, resistance and power metrics
Negatives
  • There is no fitness monitor on the bike
  • Pedals are not SPD (additional $50 to replace the pedals if you want to use cycling shoes)
  • Low weight capacity compared to Kouz and a few other budget exercise bikes
  • Handlebars don’t move/adjust forward and backward

6. Dmasun Affordable Indoor Cycle Bike

 in stock
Amazon.com
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am

In my opinion, Dmasun is the best quality inexpensive spin bike. It has it all and yet is impressively affordable. If you are not looking for Bluetooth technology and your budget falls below $300, you should consider looking into this budget exercise bike more seriously.

Dmasun belt drive cycle features everything you need for quiet and smooth indoor cycling and costs next to nothing compared to other magnetic exercise bikes.

DMASUN exercise bike is made for elite and beginners featuring a 40-pound flywheel that provides a smooth spinning workout for users up to 330 pounds.

The heavy flywheel is combined with a quiet and maintenance-free magnetic resistance and belt drive system. It’s quieter and doesn’t require lubrication like chain affordable exercise bikes do.

If you like auto-resistance and Power Zone classes on Peloton or Zwift, I suggest that you disregard this budget spin bike because it doesn’t have electronic resistance.

Instead you can buy the Echelon EX-5 because it automatically adjusted its resistance based on your cadence to keep you in the target zone.

As for the actual amount of intesity, you get more resistance and inertia than Yesoul bike because of its heavy flywheel.

You can twist the knob on the freame to adjust the intensity to meet your fitness level and needs. If you push the knob down, it can also be used as an emergency brake.

This cheap indoor bike is also well-adjustable. Meaning you can adjust the seat forward, backward, up, and down. So you can perfectly fit your bike (if you are between 5 to 2.2 feet) to minimize the risk of injuries or hurting your back.

The angle of the seat to the handlebars are not too separated with each other like the Yesoul S3 or the Bancon budget indoor bikes so it doesn’t require you to have to lean further forward than normal. But you do still have to make adjustments to fit your height.

What you get with this budget stationary bike that you don’t get with any other option I compared in this article are the handlebars. They offer a wide range of hand positions including drop racing grips. They are also dipped so no matter how how much you sweat, you still have a firm grip.

The seat is okay but still not as uncomfortable as the seat of the Echelon EX15. Maybe it’s just me, but then again I’m average height, weight, and body shape.

If I was to keep the bike for regular indoor training, I would be looking into replacing the seat with one that’s more comfortable, probably a Selle Royal Gel Seat or the Velmia touring seat.

The two built-in pulse sensors on the handlebars provide you with your heart rate feedback on the screen. Howerver, it’s not super reliable or practical as you can’t keep your hands in the same place during the whole indoor cycling session. So, it’s best rely on heart rate monitor watch, chest strap or armband for your heart rate.

The console that coems with the bike extremly poor and low quality unforutnelty. I had a hard time seeing any of my stats during the ride, especially when I kept the room light off.

It’s about 2″inch wide and 1″inch tall without any backlight and runs on AA batteries (included). There is no wireless technology on this bike. So, there is no Bluetooth or ANT/+ protocol to connect the bike to Zwift, peloton, Kinomap, etc.

Its digital monitor shows the time, distance, scan, speed, calories, and pulse. But there is no RPM/cadence, resistance level, or power. As I said in the beggining, this bike is a good option for someone who doesn’t want electronic technology.

If you prefer to have a more advanced budget indoor bike, I highly recommend the Horizon Fitness 5.0 IC. It has a much better console and Bluetooth connection for indoor virtul cycling workouts.

But if you really love this bike and want to make it work on Zwift or other apps, you can get yourself a paire of Bluetooth cadence and speed sensors. They cost around $70, you can attach the cadence sensor to the bike’s crankarm and the speed sensor to the bike’s flywheel.

Then of course you would need to download and install the cycling application of your choice, create a profile, while pedaling on the bike click “Connect” and the application should find the sensors. It can be as easy as that.

The toe-caged pedals feature adjustable straps to provide a good fit during cycling workouts but they are not dual-sided SPD. I did need to upgrade the pedals for my cleated bike shoes but thankfully that was easy because the pedal thread size is 9/16. So, clip in cycling shoes are widely available.

A few other features of this top magnetic spin bike include the tablet holder on top of the monitor, water bottle holder, durable transport wheels, and adjustable base levelers.

Being one of the best-rated budget spin bikes, this Dmasun bike also comes with a relatively good warranty of 1 year on all the parts and frame, no labor though.

Specs
Overall Dimensions: 41L x 21.26W x 47H
Max weight supporting capacity: 330-lb.
Product weight:95-lb.

Positive
  • Adjustable Magnetic Resistance and belt drive system
  • Well padded comfortable seat
  • Heavy (40 lbs) flywheel weight
  • Media and bottler holders
  • Multi-grip and dipped handlebars
Negatives
  • Handlebars don’t adjust forward and backward
  • No SPD elements on pedals
  • No RPM or backlit on the monitor
  • There is no Bluetooth or ANT/+ connectivity

7. Cavalier Low-Priced Indoor Cycling Bike

 in stock
Amazon.com
as of January 27, 2023 6:26 am

The Cavalier is the most affordable spin bike with decent quality for someone who wants to start indoor cycling but has a small budget to spend on an exercise bike.

I used several spin bikes under $300 that wasn’t as good as this bike that literally costs $150. I am actually surprised how they manage to sell this spin bike at this low price and still make money on it.

It has a belt-driven system that provides a smooth and quiet indoor cycling workout. The bike makes around 30 DB noise which is like someone whispering so it’s not annoying like chain-driven system air resistance bikes.

But what really surprised me was its 40-pound flywheel which is impossible to get budget and affordable exercise bikes at this price tag. It can provide a smooth indoor spinning exercise for users up to 300 pounds.

In addition to that, this home spin bike has magnetic resistance that has very little maintenance and provides a quiet ride. There is no friction so you don’t have to worry about replacing resistance parts, ever.

In regard to its resistance, the only issue I had was the lack of specific resistance levels so I never knew my resistance level which is important especially when I was watching Peloton classes on my tablet.

Also, it’s only manually adjustable so the bike can’t automatically change resistance for Peloton power zone rides and Zwift uphills/downhills. So, far the only budget exercise bike that I have seen with automatic resistance were the Horizon Fitness 5.0.

The Nautilus U618 also has smart electronic resistance but it’s not a spin bike, it’s an upright exercise bike. So, you can’t get off the saddle to stand on the pedals for cycling like you would on a spin bike.

Additionally, this PayLessHere (Cavalier) budget spin bike comes with a cushioned seat that is horizontally and vertically adjustable. It’s breathable and comfortable for male and female users.

Interestingly enough, the seat of this budget spin bike has properly built suspensions that add to the comfort of the ride. Even the Yesoul G1 (S3) which costs double the price of this Cavalier indoor bike didn’t have any suspension.

As far as the handlebars go, they can be adjusted up and down but not forward and backward. It is not ideal but unfortunately, this is a very common issue with all the low-cost affordable exercise bikes that I reviewed.

What I did love about this bike’s handlebars was its design and the fact that they are dipped rather than covered with cheap foam. I haven’t seen any spin bike under $200 with such handlebars honestly.

They are even more comfortable and have more grip positions than the handlebars of the Yesoul and Bancon budget indoor cycling bikes. There is a bottle holder to stay hydrated, it’s also big enough to place a phone in it.

Its tablet holder is fixed on the handlebars like the Echelon EX15 but it is grippy and keeps any size of tablet secure during the ride.

Vigbody also comes with an LCD monitor that tracks your speed, time, distance, calories, Odometer, and pulse. The computer is not backlit so you might need to exercise with the light on in dark-room conditions.

Just so you know the display is very small and hard to read, really low-tech and crappy for my liking but considering the price I am not disappointed. I wish it also provided the RPM, watt, or resistance level.

The Banco and Horizon bikes had better consoles and provided way more details about my ride than this low-cost indoor bike. Plus, those budget indoor bikes have Bluetooth for app connection.

Pedals are non-slip and have the adjustable strap to keep your feet fit during an intense workout. There are no elements to use SPD or SPD SL cleats for using clipless cycling shoes.

There are also two transport wheels, which are made of hard plastic and leave a trace when you move the bike. The long silicon wheels on the WHMH Eclipse bike were much better and easier to move the bike.

There isn’t a place on the bike to add dumbbells but to me, that’s a minor problem because I use heavier dumbbells on a proper stand. Also, I am unaware of what they offer for customer support but I haven’t needed any support because I used the bike only for a few rides in order to write this review.

Specs
Overall Dimensions: 39L x 10W x 35H.
Max weight supporting capacity: 330-lb.
Product weight: 80-lb.

Positive
  • Adjustable Magnetic Resistance
  • Quiet Belt Drive System
  • Up&Down Adjustable Seat/Handlebars
  • Soft Cushioned Seat & Solid Construction
  • Media Holder & Water Bottle Holder
  • Excellent price, considering the features
Negatives
  • Dark LCD Readings without backlit
  • No SPD on the pedals
  • No RPM reading on the monitor
  • 2-Way adjustable handlebars
  • Hard plastic wheels

Budget Indoor Bike Accessories & Features:

Cycling shoes

Spinning shoes

To fully gain the benefits of a spin bike, you need to have the best gears for indoor cycling. Not only it’s safer to exercise with the right spinning clothes but you can also increase the calories burned on a spin bike by exercising more efficiently.

There are cheap indoor cycling shoes that cost as little as $40 and as they are shoes for spin bikes, they last for a long time. So, you don’t have to worry about buying another pair of spinning shoes for years. Most cycling shoes also include cleats for spin bikes.

Headband

Using budget affordable spin bikes or top rated spin bikes, spinning workouts make you sweat a lot. So, you either let the salty sweat come down from your head to your face and into your eyes, or you can wear a sweatband.

They wick away the moisture during the indoor spinning workout, and in the winter they keep your ears and forehead warm.

Spinning Short

Indoor cycling short

You might as well have heard some indoor cyclists complain about the spin bike saddle sore. Well, it’s true, hard and soft seats can cause the saddle sore. It’s because either the seat is hard or simply because on each pedal stroke your skin rubs against the seat and your clothes causing friction. So, after a few spinning workout routines, you also might experience some bruises in key areas on your lower body.

But don’t worry there is an easy fix to this problem. $20 will get you a nice men’s chamois padded spin bike short to use during indoor cycling workout. And for ladies, you can buy one of our top women’s padded cycling shorts. They are tight fitting and they move with your skin so they prevent chaffing and friction.

Indoor cycling shorts also add an extra layer of padding to your hip bones. If you are wondering if using spin bikes gives a good exercise, the answer is yes. It can be very comfortable with the right spinning clothing. The amount of calories burned on a spin bike is worth the few extra dollars. After all, it’s your health you are investing in.

Seat & Cushion

cheap indoor cycle review

You don’t have to buy either of these two spin bike accessories until you do a few spinning workout sessions. Then you can decide to replace your seat with a softer gender specific seat or just add a seat cushion.

The best spin bike seats are breathable and wouldn’t cost more than $30-40. Keep in mind that even the top-rated spin bikes for home sometimes need a seat cushion.

Exercise Bike Bottle Holder

Intense and beginner spin bike workouts will make you sweat and dehydrated. To stay hydrated you will need to keep your water bottle on the bike in a place easy to reach. While most of the best spin bikes under 500 have the bottle holder, some bikes might lack in this feature.

Therefore, when buying a spin bike, see if the cycling exercise bike bottle is included or if you need to purchase it separately. While it sounds basic, a water bottle holder on an exercise bike during a cardio workout can be a real lifesaver. It’s not practical to stop your workout and dismount your exercise bike every time you want to quench your thirst.

Spin Bike Computer

Cheap indoor cycling bike with computer

Many indoor cyclists simply stick with their budget spin bike’s computer. Because they provide all the basic information for a home spin cycle exercise. But if your budget spin bike doesn’t come with a computer, you may want to consider adding a monitor to your bike. There are several options for bike monitors but two of them really stand out. The interactive Wahoo sensors and the spinning monitor.

The Wahoo company has a cadence and speed meter for the spin bikes and road bikes. You simply attach the sensors on the crank arms and then using the Bluetooth or ANT+ you can connect them to your phone/table/TV etc. The cadence sensor for the spin bike will be connected after you download the free Wahoo app on your phone/device.

Once they are connected, you can see the RPM (Revolutions Per Minute) and Watts (the power of your strokes). And if you wear Wahoo chest strap, you can track your heart rate and calories burned on the Wahoo app. Using this interactive cadence computer for spin bike, you can join the indoor cycling apps online and compete with other live cyclists. You can also follow live online classes from popular spinning apps like Zwift.

Your second option is the spinning BIO Wireless Computer Monitor. It’s a package that includes a cadence sensor, a watt sensor, a wireless chest strap, a monitor holder and the monitor. By far it’s the best stationary spin bike computer that you can purchase for under $100. Using this exercise bike monitor, you can track heart rate, calories burned, RPM, Watts, and time. All you need to do is to tighten the computer on the handlebars and attach the magnetic sensors to the flywheel.

This budget spin bike computer is not interactive so you can’t connect it with your phone/device to compete online. It’s not a huge deal for many, you can still do at home spin class following YouTube spinning videos on your laptop. Also, note that the best spin bikes for home that are made by the “Spinning” brand feature this top rated monitor. You can buy it from Amazon or directly from Spinning.com.

Phone/tablet holder

Budget spin bike with tablet holder

Exercise spin bike tablet and phone holder is usually missing even on pricey best buy spin bikes. So, don’t be disappointed if your recently purchased Amazon spin bike doesn’t have a device holder.

The HTX2 strap-lock mount is cheap and can be adjusted to fit different sizes. We recommend it in all our best home spin bike reviews and our readers like it.

Exercise equipment mat

Cheap indoor cycles, as well as expensive bikes, can scratch your floor during transportation and intense exercise. We highly recommend you to consider buying a heavy duty exercise equipment mat to protect your floor and also have a quieter smoother cycling exercise. Also, double check the base levelers to make sure your budget exercise bike is stable before riding. During a serious cycling workout, some indoor bikes may wobble or fall over if not adjusted properly.

Bike Pedals

spin bike dual sided spd pedals

Cheap spin bikes usually have basic single sided pedals while the best spin bike for the home often comes with dual side pedals. The difference is that with dual sided pedals you can do indoor biking workout with regular gym shoes on one side or use the other side with specific spinning shoes.

Unfortunately, this is one of the spin bikes parts that you might have to purchase separately even when buying the top spin bikes for home unless you want to use regular athletic shoes.

Bike cover and Chain Lube

To keep your home spin bike clean and keep children away from it, we recommend you to cover the bike when not in use. Curious kids could get their fingers trapped in the moving parts.

If you buy the belt driven spin bike, you don’t need to lube often. But if you buy cheap spin bikes, it’s possible that it has a chain instead of the belt. So, you will need to lube the chain from time to time. In our spin bikes reviews, we often recommend WD40 wet lubes but you can also use a dry lube.

Best spin bike videos

best spinning workout DVDs

While some like to watch TV during cycling workout, many elite and beginner cyclists prefer following an instructor. Not only it’s motivational, but it’s also educational and you can learn how spin bikes work. There are several free indoor cycling workout videos on the web published by professional spinning instructors. You can also buy the best spin bike DVDs available on Amazon for as little as $10.

Adjustable handlebars

Step 7: adjust handlebars up, down, forward, and back

The best affordable indoor cycling bikes feature four-way adjustable handlebars. Meaning you can adjust the handlebars vertically and horizontally to fit your arm length. Adjusting spin bike means better bike fitting which ultimately means more comfort and support for your lower back. Therefore, you can work out for longer without experiencing the kind of discomfort and pain unadjustable spinning bikes can cause.

Seat adjustment

Step 6: adjust seat up, down, forward, and back

Pretty much every best home spin bike in 2023 has adjustable seat, so they’re suitable for adults of most heights. Look for up/down fore/aft adjustable seat so you can get better bike fitting. Keep in mind that each exercise bike has a recommended height range which is often between 5’2″ and 6’5″. If you are not in this height range, it’s important to check the bike’s maximum and minim inseam. While spinning indoor, you want to make sure you can extend your knees to the right length to avoid injuries. Also, when buying the best budget indoor spin bike, look for cushioned spin bike seat and avoid the hard seats.

Heart rate monitor

best cycling heart rate monitor armbands

The majority of cheap exercise bikes tend to come with built-in pulse sensors on the handles for heart rate monitoring. However, the top-rated home spin bikes are compatible with wireless chest straps which is more accurate than pulse sensors. Tracking your heart rate during exercise allows you to better reach your goals and stay within your heart rate range.

Resistance

how to adjust magnetic resistance

Resistance type is a huge factor in how much spin bikes cost. There are magnetic and friction resistance types and the difference is that the magnetic is silent while the friction makes a bit of noise and requires maintenance. Why? Because magnets don’t come in contact with the flywheel while the friction does.

When buying magnetic resistance spin bikes, look at how many levels of resistance the exercise bike you’re considering has. Around 15-25 levels is average for a gym-quality fitness cycle, but basic models may have fewer levels. As far as the friction resistance goes, they don’t have levels. They have a dial/knob that turns 360 degrees. The higher resistance on a bike provides a more intense exercise and allows you to do strength workout in addition to cardio exercise.

Preset Programs

spin bike exercise programs

This is something you will only find on some of the best exercise spin bikes. Affordable spin bikes don’t tend to come with preset spinning programs to help boost your workout. Built-in programs automatically change the resistance on your indoor bike and allow you to start out on a low resistance, then build up to a high resistance before going back to a lower resistance. Some of these cycling programs work based on your heart rate so you can choose a minimum and maximum heart rate. This way the exercise bike will change the resistance automatically to make you stay within that range of heart rate.

Best home spin bikes with programs are great if your doctor tells you not to exceed a certain heart rate or if you are not sure how to build your exercise workout. Indoor cycling exercise bike with a wide range of programs will fit people with a variety of fitness levels.

Drive System

spin bike drive systems

Majority of newer model indoor bikes feature belt-drive, which is quieter compared to chain-drive and doesn’t require oiling/maintenance.

Generally speaking, toothed belt transmission is the best drive system for spin bikes because they don’t slip and power efficiency is higher. However, they are expensive and you won’t find them on low-budget indoor bikes.

We picked several belt-drive affordable indoor exercise bikes and added them to this best-budget spin bikes review. Although they are all belt-driven indoor bikes, they are not toothed (aka Timing) belt-driven indoor bikes.

Their belts are poly-v with multiple ribs which I prefer over chain because you don’t need to oli them and they are quieter. But unlike Timing belts that normally last up to 15 years, these poly-v belts need to be replaced ever 2-5 years depending on ofter you use the bike.

Spin bike flywheel and assembly

spin bike flywheel weight and size explained

Flywheel weight is an important factor when you buy a friction resistance bike but when buying magnetic resistance spin bike, it’s not a huge factor.

The best flywheel weight for spin bike that has friction resistance is from 30-pound to 60-pound. The heavier the flywheel, the more natural your pedal strokes will be.

Indoor cycling bikes are one of the easiest fitness equipment to put together compared to ellipticals, treadmill etc. Special these on sale and low cost spin bikes don’t have complicated sensors and computers to assembly.

Therefore, anyone who can tighten a few bolts should be able to assemble their indoor bike without the need of a technician. When buying budget spin bikes, usually you will receive the tools needed.

Where to buy affordable spin bikes?

Comparing spin bikes you will notice there are more options among Amazon spin bikes than any other retailers. Not only that, spin bikes on Amazon are usually cheaper compared to other places. Amazon spin bikes feature free-shipping and also the Amazon return policy. From the same place, you can buy all the additional accessories.

If you are a Prime member, you will even have more benefits shopping for indoor cycling bikes on Amazon. Bottom line is that based on a couple of websites that we checked to find out how much the spin bikes are, we noticed that Amazon is the best choice for indoor cycles.

Best cheap spin bike brands!

Sunny Health & Fitness Cheap Spin Bikes

Sunny Health And Fitness Indoor Cycle

With no doubt, Sunny health and Fitness is one of the best spin bike brands and their bikes are the most sold and popular on the market. Sunny bikes include gym spin bikes as well as top home spin bikes. The cheapest spin bike by Sunny is under $150 while their top indoor spin bikes for commercial use are no more than $1000.

Sunny Health and Fitness bikes are known for being sturdy and low-price. Their products lines also include rowing machines, ellipticals, mini steppers, recumbents bikes, and more.

We highly recommend this brand because they offer the best cheap spin bike that features sturdy frame and parts. Another reason we like this indoor bike brand is that they always have parts available in case you need it.

Ancheer Fitness Affordable Spinning Bikes

Ancheer indoor cycling bikes

This is a relatively new company that has grown very fast due to their high-quality and budget stationary spin bikes. They have recently become very popular with the Ancheer exercise bike, Ancheer folding bike, and Ancheer mini exercise bikes.

Ancheer indoor cycling bikes feature a slim design, belt drive, nice colors, and solid construction. Not to mention all their products are budget friendly. You will rarely see a consumer complaining about their Ancheer bike purchase.

We included Ancheer indoor exercise bikes in this buying guide, you can find them at the top of the list. They also have you covered if you are interested in adjustable weightlifting belts, trampoline, folding treadmill, and other indoor fitness cardio training equipment.

Efitment Economical Spin Bikes

EFITMENT spin bike

One of the best seller magnetic spin bikes manufacturers. While EFITMENT bikes include both friction and magnetic, their is very popular. Efitment set a new price standard for magnetic indoor bikes with IC031. It retails for less than $400 and it was the first budget magnetic spin bike that came out in 2017.

Following that, the company introduced the IC033 with better features yet budget and affordable. You will find Efitment products in many reviews of spin bikes across the web.

With no doubt, both their bikes are the top-spin bikes under $500. If you can afford it, we highly recommend one of the magnetic resistance indoor spin bikes made by Efitment. They also manufacture, steppers, indoor rowers, recumbents, folding bikes, treadmills, fitness ropes, and ellipticals.

L-Now Cheap Indoor Cycling Bikes

L Now indoor cycling trainer exercise bikes

Sturdy and Solid, that’s how I would describe L-Now Indoor cycling bikes. They are built like tank featuring up to 500-pound user weight capacity. It’s one of the fitness companies that strive to provide you with quality indoor cycling bikes at affordable prices. L Now manufactures mainly belt drive spin bikes for home use.

If you are buying a spin bike online and looking for a solid machine, we highly suggest the L-Now indoor cycling bikes.

They will last years for at home spin bike workout. If you are interested to find out which ones are our top favorites, check out the Live Now indoor stationary exercise bikes.

Last word on cheap indoor cycling bikes

Best Cheap Spin Bikes

Spinning is one of the cheap indoor activities that will help you burn more calories compared to any other type of exercise bike. We found the best uncostly indoor cycling bikes worth the money so that you can gain all the benefits of spinning for years to come.

After reading the information on this cost-effective exercise bike guide you should be able to decide which one of the best indoor cycles is best for you. The goal is to start from somewhere and get back to ideal shape.

If you think an indoor cycling bike is not for, you might want to consider other types of exercise bikes. Read below to understand how much burnt calories to expect from exercise bikes.

  1. If you’re short on space, a folding exercise bike is ideal. You can fold it up and store it when it’s not in use. (200-400 calories per hour)
  2. If you’re recovering from injuries, a recumbent exercise bike is ideal. You can mount it with no effort and use back support during exercise. (200-500 calories per hour)
  3. If you’re not flexible and rather exercise upright than leaning forward, an upright exercise bike is ideal. They are effective and easy to use. (200-600 calories per hour)
  4. If you don’t have flexibility and back issues, the spin bike is recommended for you. They offer the most intense form of indoor exercise bike workout. (400-1000 calories per hour)

6 Comments
  1. Thanks for the review of the low-cost lineup.

    • Hello Kierra, thanks for stopping by

      You are very welcome, we always aim to keep our articles updated with the best value indoor bikes for you.

      Do let us know if you have any question before choosing one for you

  2. This is really helpful. Thanks!

  3. I’m confused about your review for 10. Advenor Affordable Belt Driven Indoor Cycle. The cons listed seem to contradict your full review of the bike (https://yourexercisebike.com/advenor-indoor-cycling-bike-review/) and the short review on this page calls it a PYHIGH S2 but the link takes you to an Advenor bike. It looks like whoever wrote this article mixed up the two reviews.

    • Hello John, thanks for stopping by

      I replaced the S2 with the Advenor but somehow I forgot to update the details, thanks a lot for brining this up!!!

Leave a reply

Your Exercise Bike
Logo