The 9 Best Value Magnetic Spin Bikes in 2022

Are you looking for the best magnetic spin bikes? You just landed in the right place. In this article, we compared and reviewed the best spin bikes with magnetic resistance available on the market in 2022.

Indoor cycling is one of the most effective workouts for losing weight and building muscle, but it’s also time-consuming and often difficult to find an indoor bike that offers these benefits.

And to gain all the cardiovascular benefits of a high-intensity workout without making annoying noise, you need a good spin bike with magnetic resistance.

With no further ado, let’s get right to it and see which one of these magnetic resistance indoor cycling bikes suits your needs and what you can learn from our spin bike buying guide.

To make it even easier for you to find your next magnetic resistance indoor bike, in the end, you will find a handy FAQ section useful for both starters and experienced indoor cycling enthusiasts.

$2,060.00
$2,460.00
in stock
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am
Amazon.com
$2,028.97
in stock
5 new from $2,028.97
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am
Amazon.com
$1,996.49
in stock
2 new from $1,996.49
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am
Amazon.com
$1,299.00
in stock
5 new from $470.50
1 used from $550.00
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am
Amazon.com
$799.00
$1,199.00
in stock
5 new from $779.99
3 used from $744.03
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am
Amazon.com
$999.99
in stock
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am
Amazon.com
$533.99
$599.98
in stock
3 new from $533.99
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am
Amazon.com
$349.99
$499.99
in stock
2 used from $335.99
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am
Amazon.com
$339.99
$439.99
in stock
1 used from $257.85
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am
Amazon.com
Last updated on November 26, 2022 2:51 am

Best Magnetic Spin Bikes Compared

Comparison Table For The Best Magnetic Spin Bikes
Bike NamesFlywheelResistanceAuto-ResistanceMonitorTransmissionPedalsApplications
Keiser M3i Indoor Bike8 Lbs24-Level Manual MagneticNoBacklit, Bluetooth, RPM, Watt, HR, resistance, speed, calories, distanceBelt-DriveSPD and CageZwift, Peloton, Strava, Keiser & More
NordicTrack S15i Magnetic Resistance Spin Bike32 Lbs24-Level Electronic MagneticYes15" Touch HD Bluetooth, Wifi, RPM, watt, HR, resistance, speed, calories, distance,Belt-DriveOnly CageOnly iFit (Zwift, and Peloton if jailbroken)
Echelon EX7-S Spin Bike28 Lbs32-Level Electronic MagneticYes22" Touch HD Bluetooth, Wifi, RPM, watt, HR, resistance, speed, calories, distance,Belt-DriveSPD and CageOnly Echelon (Zwift, and Peloton if jailbroken)
Bowflex IC7 Magnetic Spin Bike40 Lbs100-Level Manual MagneticNo7" Touch HD RPM, Speed, calories, time, and distanceBelt-DriveSPD and CageZwift and Peloton but JRNY membership needed
Schwinn IC4 Magnetic Resistance Spin Bike40 Lbs100-Level Manual MagneticNo (possible with an extra accessory)Bluetooth, RPM, resistance, speed, HR, calories, and distanceBelt-DriveSPD and CageZwift, Peloton, Strava, JRNY, and More
Diamondback 1260sc Indoor Cycling Bike31 Lbs16-Level Manual MagneticNoBluetooth, Watt, RPM, resistance, speed, HR, calories, and distanceBelt-DriveSPD and CageZwift, Strava, Peloton, and More
Sunny B1805 Belt Drive indoor cycle44 LbsUnmarked Manual MagneticNo (possible with an extra accessory)No monitorBelt-DriveOnly Toe-CageNone
Echelon EX15 Magnetic Resistance Exercise Bike20 LbsUnmarked Manual MagneticNo (possible with an extra accessory)Speed, Resistance level, calories, time, and distanceBelt-DriveOnly Toe-CageEchelon, Zwift, Peloton, Kinomap, & More
DMASUN Magnetic Spin Bike40 LbsUnmarked Manual MagneticNoSpeed, calories, time, and distanceBelt-DriveOnly Toe-CageNone

Quick Overview Of Top Magnetic Resistance Spin Bikes

Best Overall Quality Made in the USA: Keiser M3i
The Keiser M3i is a top-of-the-line bike, offering features like 24 silent magnetic resistance, adjustable seat height and angle, and a console that tracks watts, resistant level, time, speed, distance, calories burned, and RPMs. As seen in every magnetic exercise bike review, this M3i is designed to provide a smooth and comfortable ride no matter your fitness level. Also, right out of the box, it is compatible with all major indoor cycling applications so you don’t need to jailbreak the console or use third-party apps to connect to Zwift, Peloton, Strava, or other apps.

Best Technology with Incline and Decline: NordicTrack S15i
Thanks to the incline and decline system, you can tone your body and increase your cardio endurance on the NordicTrack S15i magnetic resistance indoor bike. This bike has an adjustable saddle and handlebars, plus 22 levels of electronic-magnetic resistance to customize your workout. The 15-inch HD touchscreen displays essential data like watt, gear level, time, distance, heart rate, speed, and calories burned so you can track your progress. It’s made to sync and connect only with the iFit application but if you are willing to jailbreak the screen, you can connect this bike with Zwift and Peloton. I wrote an extensive guide and you search the site for it.

Best Indoor Bike For Echelon Spinning Classes: Echelon EX-7S
If you’re looking for a magnetic resistance spin bike to use with the Echelon Fit online cycling classes, then you need the Echelon EX-7S. This indoor bike uses magnetic resistance to give you a smooth and quiet ride, plus, it is 100% compatible with the Echelon app. It also has a belt-drive transmission, which makes it incredibly quiet. Plus, the EX-7S comes with a 22-inch HD touchscreen that tracks your watt, resistance, cadence, speed, distance, and calories burned. Although you can jailbreak the bike or completely disregard its 22-inch screen to connect to Zwift, Strava, Peloton, and Kinomap, I highly suggest against that. If you like non-echelon apps like Zwift and Peloton, get yourself an Echelon EX1, EX3, or EX5. Those models don’t have a built-in console, they are much cheaper and have no need for jailbreaking to connect to a third-party indoor cycling application like Zwift.

Best Magnetic Resistance Bike For JRNY Cycling Classes: Bowflex IC7
The Bowflex IC7 magnetic resistance spin bike is the perfect way to get a great workout at home. With its magnetic resistance and heavy flywheel, this bike provides a realistic cycling experience. The bike also comes with SPD pedals, so you can easily attach your cycling shoes and get started. And thanks to its 7-inch screen and JRNY connectivity, you can enjoy a wide variety of online cycling workouts. Plus, the adjustable handlebars and tablet holder let you customize your ride. The only issue with this magnetic indoor bike is that if you want to use its screen for Peloton or Zwift, you need to have a paid JRNY membership. Unless you are planning to ride this bike with the JRNY, I don’t recommend it.

Best Budget Magnetic Bike For Peloton and Zwift Cycling: Schwinn IC4
The Schwinn IC4 is a high-quality, affordable magnetic indoor bike that offers Zwift and Peloton connectivity, SPD pedals, a heavy flywheel, dumbbell holders, adjustable handlebars, and a tablet holder. This bike is perfect for anyone looking to get a great workout without having to leave the house. The Schwinn IC4 offers a smooth, quiet ride thanks to its quality construction and magnetic resistance system. Although I like this magnetic spin bike and often recommend it to my readers, I don’t think it’s the best choice for someone who wants auto-resistance on Zwift or Peloton because it has manually adjustable resistance. You could add an additional accessory like 4kspinsmart to make its resistance automatic, but it costs an additional $200 and it’s not as good as those that come with electronic resistance. Instead, if you like Zwift and Peloton automatic-resistance change, I would recommend the Echelon EX5. Same price but has a better built and an electronically/automatically adjustable magnetic resistance system.

Best Magnetic Indoor Bike For Serious Cyclists on Budget: Diamondback 1260sc
Looking for a quality indoor cycling bike that can give you a great workout but at an affordable price? Look no further than the Diamondback 1260sc! This bike features a rear-drive flywheel for a smooth, realistic ride feel. It also comes with SPD pedals for maximum pedaling efficiency. Plus, the professional design and ergonomic handlebars make it easy to stay comfortable while you ride. And with Bluetooth and ANT+ connectivity, you can easily connect to your favorite fitness apps like Zwift and Peloton. Although it has a nice console that provides me the RPM, resistance, watt, speed, heart rate, and calories, its actual resistance is only manually adjustable. So, you can set the bike to change intensity level automatically when you ride on Zwift and reach an uphill or downhill. Unfortunately, it’s also not possible to use third-party accessories like “SmartSpin2k” to make it compatible with auto-resistance.

Best Magnetic Bike for Cyclists who Don’t Want to Track Stats: Sunny Health SF-B1805
Sunny Health and Fitness B1805 Belt Drive Magnetic Indoor cycle is one of the best affordable magnetic spin bike options. It’s a durable, simple bike that gets the job done. The belt drive system ensures a quiet ride, while magnetic resistance provides plenty of customization options. With its simple design, this magnetic indoor cycling bike is perfect for anyone looking for a basic indoor cycling experience. If you don’t want any sort of electronic on the bike, this is probably the best magnetic resistance indoor bike choice for you. I found the Sunny Health and Fitness SF-B1805 magnetic indoor bike to be boring because I like to see my exercise progress so I can workout harder. But I understand some people don’t like to keep electronics close when exercising.

Best For Echelon Fans Who Prefer to use Their Tablets: Echelon EX-15
EX-15 is the best budget magnetic spin bike by Echelon. It doesn’t have any console, but it does come with Bluetooth sensors that transmit RPM, time, distance, watt, and speed to the Echelon application. You can use it with Echelon online cycling class application to get a great workout at home! I would say it’s the cheapest magnetic spin bike to use with Echelon online cycling class application. Unlike all the other Echelon magnetic spin bikes, this model (the EX15) doesn’t have electronic resistance. So, you can have an auto-resistance adjustment when you are on spin bike applications online. With the help of the QZ application, you can easily connect and sync this bike with the application of your choice. So, you are stuck with the Echelon app. I honestly think if you have less than $500, you should consider this magnetic resistance spin bike.

Best Low-Cost Magnetic Spin Bike: Dmasun Bike
The DMASUN is the perfect choice for those looking for a high-quality, affordable stationary bike with magnetic resistance. This bike features a 35-lbs flywheel, comfortable seat, and drop handlebars, making it a great choice for a spinning workout. Plus, it is backed with a 1-year warranty to give you peace of mind. I do think it’s one of the best magnetic resistance spin bikes for its price range but I don’t think you should buy it unless your budget is under $300. This bike is really outdated and doesn’t have any sort of electronic resistance or Bluetooth connectivity. So, you can’t connect to Zwift or Peloton unless you buy additional accessories.

  1. Keiser M3i Magnetic Indoor Cycle Bundle
  2. NordicTrack S15i Magnetic Resistance Spin Bike
  3. Echelon EX-7S Magnetic Belt Spin Bike
  4. Bowflex IC7 Magnetic Resistance Spin Bike
  5. Schwinn IC4 Magnetic Resistance Spin Bike
  6. Diamondback 1260sc Belt Drive Indoor Cycling Bike
  7. Sunny B1805 Belt Drive Magnetic Indoor Cycle
  8. Echelon EX-15 Magnetic Resistance Bike
  9. DMASUN Magnetic Resistance Spin Bike

Top 9 Magnetic Indoor Bikes We Recommend

Keiser M3i Mangetic Indoor Bike Bundle

 in stock
Amazon.com
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am

This belt-driven spin bike has been featured in all best home spin bike reviews. Why? Because the Keiser M3i is unbeatable in quality, features, and price. Retailed for less than $2000, you will receive a fully U.S.-made commercial magnetic spin bike. The fact that it’s completely made in the United States with the highest standards sets apart this magnetic spin bike from the rest.

But that’s not all! Keiser M3i has 24 levels of magnetic resistance that is adjustable through easy-to-reach levers. This feature combined with a durable single belt system makes the Keiser M3i the quietest exercise bike on the market. Innovative dual-sided SPD pedals allow you to exercise with spinning shoes and with regular shoes.

The cushioned seat and the handlebars are fore/aft adjustable. Everyone can get into the correct bike fit and setup. This spin bike with an LCD screen has Bluetooth connection capability. So, it allows you to connect on multiple online cycling platforms to ride and save your progress.

On the backlit display you can track your RPM, WATTS, Distance, Time, Current gear level, Speed, Odometer, Calories burned on the spin bike, and Heart Rate. Keiser M3i spin bike computer is also compatible with Polar Bluetooth HR chest strap but you need to buy the strap separately.

Being one of the best-selling Amazon spin bikes, the Keiser M3i indoor cycle can hold up to 300-pound user weight and retails with a 5-year frame and 3-year mechanical part warranty. A few other good features of this belt spin bike are a tablet holder, transport wheel, base levelers, flywheel guard, and floor mat. If you buy this magnetic resistance spin bike on Amazon, you will receive it with free shipping.

Positive
  • Bluetooth and App connectivity
  • Chest strap connectivity for accurate HR
  • 24 levels of magnetic resistance displayed in the monitor
  • Tablet holder and dual-sided Keiser Pedals
  • Smooth and quiet belt-driven system
  • Completely made in the USA with top quality
  • Watt/Power, RPM, HR, calories, and speed readings
Negatives
  • No built-in programs or data storage capacity
  • Doesn’t connect to Zwift unless Keiser Converter is used (only old model, works without the Converter)

NordicTrack S15i Magnetic Resistance Spin Bike

 in stock
5 new from $2,028.97
Amazon.com
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am

The S15i is an excellent value magnetic exercise bike suitable for all athletes regardless of their level of training, gender, or age. If you need a unit that can be used by all the family members, then S15i is for you. The S15i indoor cycle features a wide 15″ HD full-color display to track and save (on iFit App) your progress and data. You can track your calories burned, resistance level, WATTS, distance, heart rate, RPM, time, and speed.

The maximum load weight is 350-lb with is quite impressive. Thanks to its 24 levels of electronic magnetic resistance, there is enough tension to challenge all fitness levels. Whether it’s just a warm-up or a high-intensive pro workout – you are covered with this magnetic indoor bike. The machine also has two 3lb dumbbells in front of you for cross-training sessions and upper-body workouts.

Additionally, this bike comes with 1-year free iFit membership. So, depending on your goals, you can expand your training plan and get visible results in a company of professional iFit instructors and other cycling enthusiasts from all over the world. To ensure the correct body position, the comfortable padded seat is ergonomically shaped. You can adjust it horizontally and vertically to fit your needs and height.

As for the handlebars, they also come in a special shape and ideal position, but can also be adjusted vertically so that your hands are not overstressed and in the right position. The bike is optimally designed to perform exercises at home and can also be installed in an apartment, gym, or other facilities.

Furthermore, this indoor cycle comes with transportation casters to help move the product from room to room, rubberized levelers to compensate for irregularities and unevenness, and a special bottle holder.

Positive
  • Smooth and quiet workouts
  • From -10% to 20% incline/decline control
  • Tilting HD full-color touchscreen LCD monitor
  • Displays calories burned, resistance level, WATTS, distance, heart rate, RPM, time, and speed
  • Adjustable ergonomic padded seat (4-way) and multi-grip handlebars (2-way)
  • Weight fo upper-body workouts and autoBreeze workout fan feature
  • Silent electromagnetic resistance technology
Negatives
  • Heavy bike and not easy to move
  • No HDMI port on the screen
  • NordicTrack support is not reliable
  • iFit subscription is required after 1-year
  • Watt is calculated indirectly so it’s not fully accurate

Echelon EX-7s Magnetic Belt Drive Spin Bike

 in stock
2 new from $1,996.49
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am

Third on our list is the best magnetic spin bikes by Echelon currently sold for less than $2000. It’s often even available for lower prices so you might be able to get a good deal on this next Black Friday if you can wait until then.

The Echelon EX7s is the latest model of magnetic commercial indoor cycling bike in its series, it was built in mid-2022 and comes with pretty good features compared to some other competitors.

EX7s spin bike with magnetic resistance features belt drive which is a perfect combination to create a quiet enjoyable 30-50 minute spin routine while your partner or baby is resting. The 28-pound flywheel provides a smooth ride for users up to 325-lb which verifies the durability of the bike.

The Echelon EX7s magnetic spin bike also comes with a fore/aft soft cushioned adjustable seat and handlebars to allow you perfectly fit your workout bike.

The media tray on the handlebars is not the most convenient one but it allows you to keep an iPad/tablet and stay focused on achieving your personal fitness goals. Known and reviewed as one of the best magnetic spin bikes with a computer in its price class, with EX7-S you can track the Time, Speed, Distance, RPM, Heart Rate, Watt (estimated), resistance level, and calories burned on the spin bike.

But that’s not all this magnetic resistance spin bike offers. It also has a 22″ HD touchscreen monitor that connects to the Echelon app (an additional subscription fee is required if you want live and on-demand classes) and rotates up to 180-degree to either side so you can follow workouts off the bike as well. Although there is no pulse reading on the handlebars, it does come with Bluetooth so you can hook up your wireless chest strap for accurate Heart Rate monitoring.

Dual-sided pedals that fit SPD cleats and traditional fitness shoes are other good features worth mentioning about this magnetic indoor bike. Last but not least, it also has durable rust resisting, corrosion-resisting, and wear-resisting coat.

And if that’s not enough, the ergonomic racing handlebars, dual bottle holders, transport wheels, flywheel guard, and base levelers should add it to your list of shopping for magnetic resistance indoor bikes.

Positive
  • Heart Rate chest strap included
  • Multiple levels of magnetic resistance
  • Dual-sided SPD cleat pedals
  • Fore/Aft Adjustment and aluminium posts
  • Belt transmission and magnetic resistance
  • Large adjustable tablet holder and drop handlebars
Negatives
  • Doesn’t have Bluetooth connectivity
  • Warranty is not great
  • No backlit on the monitor

Bowflex IC7 Magnetic Resistance Spin Bike

 in stock
5 new from $470.50
1 used from $550.00
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am

Featuring 100 levels of micro-adjustable magnetic resistance with a press down emergency braking system that allows for a quiet and smooth pedal stroke, the Bowflex IC7 takes a top place in this indoor cycling bike review. The IC7 magnetic belt drive indoor cycling bike features a 40-lb high inertia flywheel and belt drive system but more importantly a top-notch monitor.

This comfortable exercise bike has a sturdy frame and parts that withstand up to 330 pounds of user weight. The padded adjustable handlebars move up and down fore/aft to accommodate all user heights. Unlike a few other machines in this exercise bike guide, the IC7 cycling indoor bike has ergonomically designed handle-bars. The slip-free multi-grip handle allows you to adapt to any biking position.

Additionally, this magnetic belt-driven spin bike comes equipped with a dual-sided foot cage and SPD pedals so you can either wear specific cycling shoes or ride with your regular gym shoes. It offers an HD 7″ touch monitor to display your progress. On top of that, it syncs with the most popular indoor cycling applications so you can stay on top of your progress.

Other features of this Bowflex IC7 spin bike include the transportation wheels that allow you to easily change the bike’s location and compact dimensions. This magnetic spinning bike also has dual easy-to-reach bottle holders to allow you to stay hydrated while exercising.

Overall, it’s one of the best magnetic indoor bikes under the 1500 price range. We recommend it for novice and pro cyclists. If you want to know more about it, make sure to read its in-depth review on our website.

Positive
  • Vertical and horizontal handle-bars adjustment
  • Dial adjustable 10 levels of magnetic tension
  • High-quality durable frame and parts
  • 330-Lb weight capacity and 40-lb flywheel weight
  • Affordable price and great value
  • The best monitor for spin bike in its price class
Negatives
  • No preset programs or cooling fan (neither of them is a dealbreaker)

Schwinn IC4 Magnetic Resistance Spin Bike

 in stock
5 new from $779.99
3 used from $744.03
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am

Compatible with almost all the popular indoor cycling applications including Zwift and Peloton, the Schwinn IC4 with vertical fit is a perfect magnetic spin bike to make your dream shape come true. This training machine is an award-winning exercise bike family representative that will help you achieve maximum results quickly (if followed with a healthy diet).

Thanks to its sturdy construction, beautiful design, and various workout tracking features, this bike is simply a great option for indoor use. And since it features easy to see LED monitor, you can pedal on it any time of the day you wish to, without needing to keep the room light on to see the stats.

Featuring fully adjustable seat and handlebars, you can adjust the seat and handlebar angle to set the most comfortable riding position and use different spinning styles. Equipped with SPD pedals, training with the Schwinn IC4 not only helps you stay in shape but also keeps you safe from accidental injury during workouts.

The digital device also displays your workout progress including resistance level, calories, distance, RPM, speed, and time. All this data is displayed on the monitor in front of you, so you can always see your spinning results and achievements. There is no preset program with this model, but it allows you to set certain goals (based on distance, time, etc) according to your level and tasks.

Additional features include two integrated water bottle holders, 2 heavy-duty casters, two convenient easy-to-reach weight holders to exercise the upper body, a sturdy reliable 3-piece crank for ultimate pedaling, Bluetooth compatible to get the data you need, durable 40-lbs flywheel, 100 levels of magnetic resistance, and a belt-driven system.

Positive
  • Tablet holder and 40-lb balanced flywheel
  • Adjust dual magnetic resistance system
  • Custom seat height and positioning
  • Great value for the price, considering all the features
  • Tracks speed, calories, distance, RPM, time, load, and heart rate.
  • Clipless SPD pedals and standard pedals options
  • Heavy-duty casters and convenient easy-to-reach dual dumbbell holders
  • ANT+ and Bluetooth technologies for apps connectivity
Negatives
  • Seat is a bit hard, you might need a seat gel, especially if you ride without padded cycling shorts.
  • Watt is not calculated which is not a huge deal considering the price point

Diamondback 1260sc Magnetic Indoor Cycling Bike

 in stock
Amazon.com
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am

With a 31-pound heavy flywheel and 300 pounds max user weight, the Diamondback 1260sc is one of the best magnetic home spin bikes in 2022. This magnetic resistance stationary cycle by Diamondback features a widened, stable and adjustable base to fit different ground levels for an intense cardio workout without shaking on high-intensity training.

Thanks to the belt-driven magnetic brake system, the Diamondback 1260sc provides a quiet workout and spin class benefits inside your home’s comfort. So, if you want to burn fat and lose weight in your apartment but don’t want to bother your neighbor, the Diamondback 1260sc magnetic spin bike is for you. It’s compact and almost silent with loads of spin bike features.

Fore/aft handlebar and seat adjustment let you position your spin bike if you are shorter or taller than average. Therefore, adjusting the spin bike to fit the user is much easier. Some of the awesome features that this spin bike does have unlike the older model (910lc) are the gear level, watt, speed, HR, time, distance, and RPM reading computer. Plus, it has SPD pedals and a really well-designed tablet holder that stays in a good angle without blocking the handlebars while cycling.

Overall, the affordable price, belt system, magnetic resistance, and high weight capacities are the prominent features that distinguish the quality grade of this spin bike. Last but not least, the Diamondback 1260sc is a commercial quality magnetic indoor bike that usually retails for less than $999. We loved it, our readers love it and no doubt you will like it too.

Positive
  • 31-Pound flywheel for a smoother ride
  • Magnetic resistance and Belt System
  • 3300-Lb user weight capacity
  • Fore/Aft seat and handlebar adjustment
  • An excellent tablet holder plus drop handlebars
  • RPM and Speed reading monitor
  • Dual Sided SPD pedals for safe and efficient rides
  • BLE MTFS and ANT+ technology and Zwift connectivity
Negatives
  • There is no backlit on the screen

Sunny B1805 Belt Drive Magnetic Indoor Cycle

 in stock
3 new from $533.99
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am

The heavier the flywheel, the smoother the ride, correct? The 44-pound flywheel combined with a belt drive mechanism provides a consistent pedal motion and quiet workouts. The newly released Sunny Health & Fitness magnetic belt drive is one of the top affordable spin bikes. It has just been introduced to the market. But it won’t be long before this magnetic indoor cycling bike joins the top 9 spin bikes and gets a bump in the price.

With a high-grade lightweight aluminum seat and handlebar post, fitting your spin bike is easier than with any other competitor bike. This spin bike with an adjustable seat is for short and tall users. The SF-B1805 virtually maintenance-free magnetic belt drive spin bike offers micro tension adjustment for HIIT and basic spinning workouts.

While it’s one of the top products in our spin bike reviews, it doesn’t have the SPD pedals to exercise with shoes for spin bikes. It also doesn’t have a computer to track your workout. So, when buying this best budget spin bike, you might want to buy an LCD and SPD pedal as well. At the end of these spin bikes reviews, we will leave the link to the best indoor bike accessories that you might need.

Bottom line is that every day there are more people interested in spinning bike with magnetic resistance feature because it offers a smooth and silent ride. So, it’s better to buy one of the magnetic spin bikes for $600 without a computer rather than buying friction home cycling bikes with a basic cheap computer.

Also if you compare this top-rated spin bike with magnetic resistance with other spinning bikes, you will easily see why Sunny is unbeatable.

Positive
  • 4-Way adjustable handlebars and seat for a comfortable setup
  • Tablet holder and adjustable magnetic resistance
  • 44 Pounds flywheel and belt-driven transmission
  • 330 Pounds of user weight and a durable frame
Negatives
  • Doesn’t feature SPD spinning pedals
  • No spinning computer to track workouts

Echelon EX15 Magnetic Resistance Exercise Bike

 in stock
2 used from $335.99
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am

The Echelon EX15 indoor cycling bike maintains the perfect fusion of high-quality basics and silent resistance technology that makes your workout time both manageable and effective. When you purchase this quiet spin bike, you get a fully adjustable ergonomically designed bike, which means you have the power to customize the bike for a comfortable fit, empowering your fitness goals.

The Echelon indoor cycling bike does not have a fitness monitor but has Bluetooth Sensors that track and syncs the current resistant level, speed, pulse, distance, time, and calories allowing you to stay aware of your performance during the exercise.

Additionally, this magnetic resistance bike is equipped with a cushioned seat that adjusts 4-way to provide a comfortable bike fit for most riders.

On top of that, this quiet indoor cycle features a sturdy frame and crank arms that can support up to 300-pound user weight for spin workouts, including out of the saddle rides. But more importantly, this indoor cycling bike for home comes with a belt drive system which makes the operation quieter and low-maintenance compared to chain-driven bikes.

Last but not least, this bike comes with a 20-pound flywheel for a low-impact smooth ride. All the above, plus an affordable price lead us to feature and review the Echelon EX-15 in our magnetic resistance spin bike roundup. If you are looking for an indoor cycling bike for weight loss or an indoor cycling bike for beginners under $500, we highly recommend the EX-15.

Positive
  • Bluetooth connectivity for data tracking
  • Affordable price and free shipping
  • Eddy Current magnetic resistance technology
  • Tablet holder to keep you entertained
Negatives
  • No SPD pedals with cleats
  • No RPM reading on the monitor
  • Bike doesn’t include a built-in monitor
  • It’s only compatible with the Echelon Application

DMASUN Magnetic Spin Bike

 in stock
1 used from $257.85
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of November 26, 2022 2:51 am

Coming up number 9th in our spin bikes reviews, we added the mighty top-seller Dmasun bike. It’s the newer version for 2022 with upgraded magnetic resistance. Thanks to its built quality, affordable price, and newly added magnetic system, it’s one of the magnetic best spin bikes in 2022 and can help you meet your training goals and lose weight.

The belt drive system with adjustable magnetic resistance is another unique feature of this top-budget spin bike that offers a quiet and maintenance-free spin bike workout. Despite its low price, this belt spin bike also comes with a digital monitor display. It allows you to scan the time, speed, distance, and calories to help you keep track of your progress.

There is also a phone/tablet bracket design for entertainment while exercising. Unlike competitors that wrongly built the bracket on the screen, this exercise bike has a specific place for the tablet so you can see the stats and watch your spin class on the tablet at the same time. Although the handlebars are only horizontally (not vertically), there are pulse sensors and racing-grip drop bars.

Featuring a 330-lb capacity, this affordable magnetic indoor cycle can provide a cardio workout for most users at home. Other features that put the Dmasun in our magnetic resistance spin bike buying guide and comparison are; the sturdiness, bottle holder, comfortable, and 5-star consumer reviews. With all these features, including the price being taken into account, it’s one of the spin bikes in 2022 with magnetic resistance.

Positive
  • Fully adjustable cushioned seat and dipped handlebars
  • 40 Pounds flywheel and tablet holder
  • Magnetic tension with the emergency brake
  • Low-maintenance belt drive and transport wheels
Negatives
  • No spin bike SPD pedals with cleats
  • No RPM reading on the monitor
  • There is no backlit on the display
  • No Bluetooth or ANT/+ connection
  • Only manual magnetic resistance, not electronic

Are magnetic spin bikes better?

Are magnetic exercise bikes better than their cheaper, friction counterparts? While there are several good friction indoor cycles on the market, magnetic spin bikes are better for a number of reasons.

First of all, they are more silent than the indoor bikes that run with friction resistance, and if you live in a small apartment, it definitely helps to not bother your roommates or family members.

Another reason why magnetic spin bikes are better is that they barely need any maintenance, simply put, they don’t wear out, while friction bikes need to change the friction quite often, and sometimes it’s hard to find a compatible spare.

Moreover, riding a magnetic exercise bike is a better experience because much smoother, while friction resistance can cause a jerky motion, quite unpleasant and reduces power efficiency.


Benefits of indoor cycling

indoor cycling benefits

1. Cycling indoors is a great way to get your heart rate up, burn calories, and lose weight.

Burning up to 800 calories per hour, indoor cycling is a great way to get your heart rate up, burn calories, and lose weight. With the best magnetic resistance spin bike, it is easy to increase or decrease your intensity levels as you wish.

Whether you are just starting out or are an experienced rider, indoor cycling can help you reach your fitness goals quickly by encouraging calorie deficiency and helping you burn hundreds of calories per hour.

And with a variety of classes available such as spinning workouts or endurance rides, indoor cycling is the perfect way to challenge yourself and improve your overall fitness.

So if you’re looking for a fun and effective form of exercise to help with weight loss and improved cardiovascular health, look no further than indoor cycling!

2. Indoor cycling is a great way to get your heart rate up and improve your cardiovascular health.

If you’re looking for a good way to get your heart rate up and improve your cardiovascular health, indoor cycling is a great option.

Unlike traditional outdoor bikes, modern indoor cycling bikes are equipped with magnetic resistance, which allows you to control the intensity of your workout and elevate your heart rate.

Additionally, indoor cycling is a low-impact activity that is easy on your joints. And because you’re indoors, you don’t have to worry about weather conditions or traffic.

Whether you’re a beginner or a seasoned cyclist, indoor cycling and magnetic flywheel spin bike is a great workout for all levels.

3. You can customize your cycling workout to meet your specific fitness goals.

Whether you’re looking to improve your cardiovascular health, build muscle strength, or simply enjoy a low-impact workout, cycling is an excellent option.

And, with a magnetic stationary bike, you can tailor your workout to best meet your needs. For instance, if you’re looking for a vigorous cardio workout, you can increase the resistance on your bike and pedal at a high speed.

On the other hand, if you’re hoping to build muscle, you can focus on pedaling at a slower pace with more resistance. No matter what your fitness goals are, there’s a way to customize your magnetic belt drive spin bike workout to help you reach them. So hop on a belt drive magnetic resistance spin bike and get pedalling!

4. Indoor cycling is a low-impact exercise, which makes it ideal for people who can’t do high-impact workouts.

Indoor cycling is one of the best low-impact exercise options available, making it ideal for people who are looking to stay active without putting too much strain on their bodies.

Whether you’re recovering from an injury or a long-term medical condition, indoor cycling can help you get the heart-pumping workout that you need, while also being gentle enough that it doesn’t cause additional pain or discomfort.

This type of rhythmic exercise puts less strain on your body than other high-impact workouts, such as jumping rope or running, giving you a welcome reprieve from the potential dangers of more intense activities.

With its magnetic resistance and intuitive design, an indoor cycling bike can be the perfect way to achieve all of your fitness goals without compromising your health.

5. There are many different types of indoor cycling classes, so you can find one that fits your interests and needs.

Indoor cycling is a popular form of cardiovascular exercise that has exploded in popularity in recent years. It is particularly appealing to those who are looking for a high-intensity workout without having to brave the elements outside.

There are many different types of online and studio spinning classes available, each with their own advantages and focuses. For example, you can choose spinning classes that focus on speed, hill climbing, or intense endurance training.

You can also choose spinning classes based on equipment; for example, spinning bikes that feature electromagnetic resistance are ideal for experienced riders who want to push their limits, while spinning bikes with magnetic resistance may be more suitable for beginners just looking to get moving.

Ultimately, there is no shortage of options when it comes to indoor cycling classes, both virtual online classes and physical studio classes. So, you can easily find one that fits your interests and needs.

6. You can do it at home or in a studio, making it convenient for any schedule.

You can find affordable magnetic spin bikes that provide a convenient way to get a workout at home or in a studio. Belt driven magnetic spin bike uses magnetic resistance to provide a smooth and quiet ride.

You can adjust the settings to suit your workout needs. The best spin bike magnetic resistance is often lightweight and easy to move around, making it convenient for any schedule.

No matter how late you are from work or what time you want to do a cardio workout, if you own an indoor cycling bike with magnetic resistance, you can hop on the bike and reap its benefits.

7. Indoor Cycling can help improve your mental health, mood and relieve stress.

Regular exercise is important for maintaining physical health, but it can also have a significant impact on mental health. For many people, indoor cycling is an ideal form of exercise.

Not only does it provide an excellent workout, but it can also help to improve mood and relieve stress. Best indoor cycling bike magnetic resistance can help you get the most out of your workouts without annoying you with the noise.

By providing a smooth, consistent resistance, the best magnetic resistance exercise bike can help you push yourself harder, making your workouts more effective.

In addition, even the cheapest magnetic resistance spin bike is quiet and low-maintenance, making it ideal for use in the home. Whether you are looking to improve your physical fitness or your mental well-being, a magnetic resistance belt drive spin bike can help you achieve your goals.

8. Owning an indoor cycling bike will help you save on transportation expenses and gym the monthly fee.

When it comes to staying in shape and getting the most out of your workout, many people turn to exercise bikes with magnetic resistance.

These compact, portable machines allow you to get in a high-intensity cardio session right at home, without having to pay expensive gym fees or deal with crowded spaces.

Additionally, because these indoor exercise bikes with magnetic resistance are so versatile and portable, owning one can actually end up saving you money on public transportation expenses over time.

Compared to the cost of buying a car, paying for gym, getting sick coming home in winter, or paying for gas every day, owning a belt driven magnetic spin bike is good value option that will help you achieve your fitness goals while protecting your wallet

So if you’re looking for a way to save on both fitness and transportation costs, investing in the best value magnetic spin bike could be just what you need.

9. Using spin bike at home is not dependent on the type of weather and can be used any day and night at any time.

For anyone who loves their spin bike, there’s no doubt that the best part is being able to work out whenever and wherever you want. Whether it’s raining or snowing outside, or whether you prefer quiet mornings or busy nights, your magnetic resistance spin bike gives you full control over your workout schedule and environment.

So if you’re looking to squeeze in a quick session while catching up on your favorite Netflix show, you can do that. Or if you’d rather follow along with a live online cycling class, you can do that too.

At the end of the day, the great thing about having a spin bike belt drive magnetic resistance is that it opens up endless possibilities for an effective indoor cycling workout, no matter what kind of weather might be happening outside. So why wait? Check out the magnetic resistance spin bike reviews today! You’ll be glad you did.

10. Cycling at home with spin bike is much safer than riding a bike on busy roads.

There is no doubt that cycling at home on a magnetic spin bike is much safer than riding a bike on busy roads. Not only does this allow you to exercise in the comfort and privacy of your home, but it also eliminates the danger of being struck by cars or other vehicles.

Additionally, spinning at home can burn more calories in a shorter amount of time than spending time going to cycling studios or going out cycling on busy roads.

This is because home spin bikes typically feature magnetic resistance and heavy flywheels, which helps to increase the intensity of your workout without compromising your safety.

Whether you’re training for a triathlon or simply looking to stay fit and healthy, a home spin bike with magnetic resistance is an ideal way to get more out of your workouts without putting yourself at risk.

So why not read magnetic resistance exercise bike reviews, choose a bike that fits your needs, and give them a try? Your body will thank you for it!


How to pick the best indoor bike?

Resistance Function

indoor cycling bikes magnetic resistance

What is the difference between a manual and an electronic magnetic exercise bike? There are quite a few factors to consider when you are looking to buy a spin bike. In our spin bike reviews, we go through these features one by one, bear with us.

Magnetic resistance and friction resistance
There are two types of indoor bike resistance, friction, and magnetic spin bikes.

  1. Friction works like your car’s brake. Meaning when you turn the knob to add resistance, the brake comes in direct contact with the flywheel to make it hard to pedal.
  2. Magnetic resistance doesn’t touch the flywheel when you add resistance: the magnetic field creates a force to make it difficult for you to pedal. The magnetic resistance also provides a quicker, easier and more reliable change to the resistance level. Magnetic resistance is generated by a metal disk through a magnetic field.

Bottom line!
Indoor cycling bikes with friction are not as good as magnetic spin bikes because the brake comes in direct contact with the flywheel so it wears out and also makes noise. We always recommend our readers to pick the magnet indoor spin bikes: they are silent and don’t wear out so you wouldn’t need to do deal with maintenance.

  • Magnetic spin bike – Great
    Silent operation
    Smooth pedaling
    Less maintenance
  • Friction spin bike – Not so great
    Makes noise
    Wears out
    Not as smooth

Drive system

indoor cycle review

Belt drive and chain drive
Exercise Bike either features a chain, like outdoor bicycles or belt, like the modern car engines. Here is the difference and which one to pick.

  1. Chain drive spin bikes have a metal chain with tens of tiny pieces that turns around a metal crank arm. So, because multiple pieces of metal run on each other to operate, they require lubrication and often maintenance.
  2. Belt drive spin bike has a rubber belt that goes over two round pullies to turn the flywheel. So, it doesn’t have tens of metal pieces running over a metal crank.

Bottom line!
It’s obvious to say a chain drive home indoor cycling bike makes more noise and requires lubrication. On the other hand, a belt-driven spin bike runs without lubrication and doesn’t make noise because it operates with a rubber belt and soft pullies.

  • Belt spin bikes – Great
    Silent
    Smooth
    Less maintenance
    More durable
  • Chain spin bikes – Not so great
    Noisy
    Not as smooth
    Require lubrication
    Not as durable

Flywheel consideration

Indoor cycling bikes flywheel

If you are an expert indoor cyclist, you already know, but if you are a novice spinner, here is an explanation of what is the flywheel on a spin bike. The round metal disc located in front of or at the back of the bike is called a flywheel. The flywheel is responsible to stimulate the natural outdoor cycling feel. Therefore, it has to store energy which is then used to create a smooth and consistent cycling motion. There are light and heavy flywheels, read below to find out which is better for the best home spin bike.

Light flywheel and heavy flywheel
Heavier flywheels tend to provide a better 360-degree smooth pedal stroke and natural feel while the light flywheels tend to be a bit jerky and less smooth. Therefore, when buying the best spin bikes for home use, we suggest you consider heavier flywheels. If you buy a spin bike that has magnetic resistance and a high gear ratio, then the weight of the flywheel is not a deal-breaker.

Bottom line!
It’s okay if your magnetic exercise bike has a lighter flywheel because it doesn’t always affect the ride. Keiser M3 series is a good example of magnetic spin bikes with light flywheels. They set the record for the lightest flywheel of any spin bike with only 8 pounds of flywheels. And they are at the very top of the list in this magnetic exercise bike review and buying guide.

  • Heavy flywheel – Great
    Natural feel
    Smoother ride
    High inertia
  • Light flywheel – Not so great (combined with friction resistance)
    Up and down pedal stroke
    Less inertia

Frame type

indoor cycling bikes reviews

Front-wheel drive spin bike vs Rear-wheel drive spin bike
Best spin bikes for home and gym studios have their flywheel either in front of the bike or at the back.

  1. Spin cycle bikes that have the flywheel in front of the frame require more cleaning because the flywheel and belt/chain are directly under the sweat zone.
  2. Rear-drive fitness cycle bikes are less likely to require maintenance due to excessive sweat. Because the flywheel and the drive mechanism (belt/chain, magnets/brakes) are not directly under the sweat zone.

Bottom line!
When looking for the best indoor spin bike, we always recommend considering the rear-drive spin bike if you can afford it. With that being said, front drive is not bad at all as long as you give it a good cleaning after each 30-45 minute spin routine.

  • Rear flywheel indoor cycling bike – Great
    Away from sweat
    Less cleaning
    Less maintenance
  • Front flywheel indoor cycling bike – Not so great
    Flywheel, belt, and magnets are vulnerable
    Require extra cleaning

Adjustable seat and handlebar

spinning bike handlebars and seat

Adjusting spin bikes allow you to prevent back pain and reduce pressure on your lower and upper body joints. The bad news is that not all cheap spin bikes allow you to adjust the seat and handlebar for your height. So, to prevent buying a spin bike without this feature, here is what you should be careful about.

The best at home spin bike allows you to adjust your seat and handlebar vertically and horizontally. This way you get into the best spinning position for your height. So, the best buy spin bikes are fore/aft adjustable.

Some cheap spin bikes allow you to adjust your seat vertically and horizontally which is good. However, their handlebar can be adjusted only horizontally. So, if you have short arms/legs, there is a bit of a chance that you don’t find the perfect posture and don’t gain all the benefits of spin bike workout. Also, always look for ergonomic spin bike seats.

  • 4-Way Adjustable – Great
    Fits all family members
    Better position for cycling cardio exercise
  • 2-Way Adjustable – Not so great
    It May not fit all family members
    Possible not to find the right indoor cycling position

Cycling bike pedals

indoor-bike-pedals

SPD dual side vs toe caged pedals

There are basically two types of spin bike pedals. The aluminum alloy pedals with a toe cage that you can use with regular athletic shoes but not with cycling shoes. And the SPD cleat pedals have dual sides for regular gym shoes and specific spinning shoes.

Studio spin bikes and some home indoor spin bikes feature dual-action click and caged combination pedals for a more effective cardio workout. But the type of spin bike pedal is not a deal-breaker because you can buy the best SPD pedals for your indoor cycle bike for less than $50.

  • Dual-action pedals – Great
    Safer workout
    Transfer more power into the cranks
    More comfortable
  • Toed caged pedals – Not so great
    Less power goes into the pedal
    Not as safe
    Not as comfortable

Spin bike computer

indoor cycle computer

Interactive spin bikes vs Non-interactive

Some of the best magnetic spin bikes come with Bluetooth and ANT/+ connection capability. Therefore, these home spin bikes allow you to interact with other indoor cyclists around the world through the best spin bike training apps. But the majority of magnetic spin bikes don’t have wireless connection capability. So, you need to purchase spin bike parts if you want to join indoor cycling apps.

  • Interactive computer – Great
    Save daily progress
    Do competition
    Share your progress with friends
  • Non-interactive – Not so great
    Doesn’t save daily spinning workout
    Can’t compete with online cyclists
    Can’t share your progress
    It costs anywhere from $50-$1000 to purchase accessories to connect the bike online
  • Back-lit
    Best spin bikes for home feature a backlit computer to allow you to see your ongoing stats in dark light conditions. So, you wouldn’t need to turn on the lamp and bother your partner early morning while enjoying the benefits of the spin bike.
  • Stats
    Best spin bikes have computers that allow you to see all the important information regarding your spinning workout. These good spin bikes display the:
  • Cadence/RPM (revolution per minute)
  • WATTs (Power transferred to the pedal)
  • HR (heart rate)
  • Distance gone (Mile or KM)
  • Calories Burned
  • Time & Resistance

Note: While some spin bikes are with LCD, some don’t come with this feature. Therefore, you need to outsource a computer for spin bike if you want to track your stats. Check out computers by MAD Dogg, One of them comes with a wireless chest strap, a cycling cadence/RPM and a speed sensor. It’s compatible with several magnetic indoor cycling bikes in this review.

Arm-rest and pulse sensors

Doing a 30-50 minute spin bike workout you get tired and a set of armrest will add comfort to help you go the extra mile. It’s a feature that can be found on some top spin studio bikes and doesn’t exist on the majority of cheap indoor exercise bikes. Contact heart rate sensors are another that allows you to track your heart rate and they can be found on the best stationary spin bikes. When searching for the best spin bike to buy, look for these features on the handlebars.

Indoor cycle weight capacity

When shopping for an indoor exercise bike with magnetic resistance, you’ll also want to make sure that the bike you choose can support your weight. Most budget magnetic spin bike models have a maximum user weight capacity of 300 pounds, but you may be able to find one that can hold more. By following these guidelines, you’ll be sure to find the best magnetic resistance stationary bike for your needs.

Exercise bike inseam

How many inches can you adjust the seat vertically (up and down)? Depending on your height, you need to be able to adjust the seat to reach the pedal and properly fit, otherwise you will end up not using your stationary bike. A cycle bike with a minimum 28″ and maximum 38″ inseam height should fit most spinners.

Tablet holder

This is something that some might forget when buying the best spin bikes for a home gym, but it’s a very important feature. An indoor cycling bike with a tablet holder allows you to keep your device with you and watch the best spin videos or favorite Netflix shows during indoor weight loss workouts. Note: The lack of this feature is not a deal-breaker because you can buy good exercise bike iPad holders separately.

Foot Levelers and wide base

We all hate it when our exercise machine starts rocking and shaking during high-intensity interval training. And the main reason for an exercise bike to rattle is the narrow base and uneven floor. To make sure your spinner exercise bike stay firm during cardio weight loss exercise, look for spin bikes with a widened and stable base and also adjustable base levelers. If your floor surface is not perfectly even, the base levelers fix it.

Frame sturdiness

Materials used on a fitness cycle bike decide the durability and the actual spin bike weight. The top-rated spin bikes feature a high-quality metal frame that can hold 300-lb load weight while the bike itself weighs less than 90-lb. For example Keiser M3i, it weighs 85 pounds while it can hold 300-pound user weight.

What you need to look for are corrosion resistance paint and rust-resistant spin bike parts. Always look for the aircraft-grade aluminum seat and handlebar posts. Because they are durable and lightweight so adjusting spin bike is much easier.

Water bottle holder & transport wheels

Best belt drive cycling trainer exercise bike machines feature the water bottle holder to keep you hydrated during the indoor workout and a set of tall silicon wheels for easy transportation. Look for dual water bottle holders that are conveniently placed on the handlebars so you can quench your thirst at any time.

Q-factor

Last but not least, you should always check the distance between the two pedals which is called the Q-factor. Spin bike Q-factor that exceeds 8″ in width is not considered ideal. Too much distance between the pedals keeps your lower body too far apart which can cause injuries. The bikes that we included in our magnetic spin bikes reviews don’t exceed the 8″ Q-factor width.


Other Things to Consider with Magnetic Indoor Cycles

Get specific spin bike shoes for efficiency

top indoor cycling shoes review and comparison

Whether you are cooking pancakes in a pressure pan or trying out indoor cycling for the first time, having the right tools is essential for success.

Indoor cycling requires specific footwear in order to protect your feet from injury and allow maximum power efficiency. After all, spinning can be a very intense workout, and wearing standard sneakers might not provide the support you need to stay safe and comfortable as you pedal around the room.

That’s why it is so important to invest in a good pair of indoor cycling shoes – whether for women or men. With their sturdy construction and advanced features, these specific spin workout shoes make indoor cycling exercise that much easier, so that you can focus on achieving your fitness goals without worry.

Therefore, don’t skimp when it comes to selecting the right indoor cycling shoes – they may be one of the most important components of your indoor cycling workout!

Wear comfortable cycling workout clothing

spinning shorts men's

When it comes to indoor cycling, comfort is key. Not only do you want to make sure your bottom is comfortable and avoid painful spin bike saddle sore, but you also want to ensure that your cycling clothes don’t get caught in the bike’s parts.

That’s why we recommend investing in a pair of womens spinning tight-fitting shorts or mens spinning shorts. These shorts are designed to provide extra safety and comfort while you’re cycling, making them an essential piece of indoor cycling clothing.

The same goes for tops, for summer try to choose breathable and fresh material to avoid overheating. Trust us, once you try them, you’ll never go back to your old cycling shorts again!

Eat properly before and after cycling session

what to eat for an indoor cycling workout

Based on a study from Cambridge University, when you’re working out on a spin bike, it’s important to eat the right foods and take the right supplements and food before and after your workout. If you don’t, you may not get the most out of your workout, and you could even end up making yourself sick.

Before you start cycling, make sure you’re well-hydrated. Drink plenty of water or sports drinks, and eat a light meal or snack that will give you energy without making you feel full or bloated. Avoid eating high-fat foods, as they can make you feel sluggish.

After your workout, drink plenty of fluids to replace what you’ve lost through sweating. You should also eat a small meal or snack that contains protein and carbohydrates. This will help your muscles recover from the workout and prepare them for your next session.

Watch online cycling workouts or get DVDs

best spinning workout DVDs

Spin bike workouts are a great way to get a cardio workout in without having to go to the gym. With so many different spin bike workout videos on DVDs and available on cycling applications online, you can find a workout that is perfect for your fitness level and goals.

Whether you are looking for a beginner spin class or a more advanced workout, there is a spin bike video out there for you. Plus, with spin bike workouts, you can go at your own pace and take breaks when you need to, making them a great option for those who are new to exercise or have injuries that prevent them from working out at a high intensity.

All you need to do is to search for “best spin videos” or “best spin cycle videos” and you will be surprised how many free professional spinning programs come up on Google. You might just find your new favorite cycling workout for free on YouTube!

Use a mat under your magnetic bike

Mats-and-Noise-Reduction

When searching for the best indoor cycling bike with magnetic resistance, an equipment mat is often overlooked but it’s actually one of the most important pieces of equipment for your spin bike.

Not only does it protect your floor from scratches and wear, but it also helps to create a more stable platform for your bike.

Spin bike mats are available in a variety of materials, including PVC and Rubber that are good for carpet, concrete and hardwood.

Each type of material has its own advantages and disadvantages, so it’s important to choose the right spin bike mat for your needs. Rubber spin bike mats are great for protecting your floor from scratches and wear.

Regardless of the material, using a mat under an affordable magnetic spin bike will add years to the bike’s life and minimise noise and vibration. It’s an essential piece of equipment for any serious indoor cyclist, so don’t go without one!


My Answers to Your Magnetic Resistance Spin Bikes Questions

Is magnetic resistance better for spin bike?

Absolutely yes, a magnetic resistance system is better for spin bikes because it has less maintenance and makes less noise. Plus, magnetic resistance provides a smoother indoor ride.

Do Peloton bikes use magnetic resistance?

The Peloton Bike and Peloton Bike Plus are magnetic resistance. The resistance system in Peloton bikes use magnets to adjust the ride’s intensity rather than using friction.

Does flywheel weight matter with magnetic resistance?

The flywheel weight doesn’t matter with magnetic resistance if the bike comes with a high-gear ratio which is similar to what you get on Keiser M3i. If the flywheel weight is lighter, it will be easier to start peddling and doesn’t require too much pedal force. Normally, heavier flywheels also offer more resistance and momentum.

Why are magnetic bikes better?

Magnetic indoor bikes are better because they are quieter when pedalling and they have little no maintenance compared to friction resistance indoor bikes. If it’s electronic magnetic resistance, you can also set your preferred resistance through the buttons on the bike console or handlebars.

What is better friction or magnetic resistance?

Magnetic resistance system has at least five major advantages over friction resistance – its quieter, cleaner, less maintenance, no replacement of brake pads. With magnetic resistance, the most noticeable difference is that the bike is smoother and quieter.

What is the best magnetic resistance?

Keiser M3i is the best magnetic resistance indoor bike on the market with the smoothest and quietest indoor cycling feel. It’s the first spin bike to feature Eddy Current Magnetic Resistance.

Types of spin bikes?

We have seen people asking about the types of spin bike and the answer to this is that there are mainly two types of indoor cycling bikes. The stationary spin bike and the moving spin bikes. Currently, Bowflex Velocore and Real Ryder spin bikes are the only ones that offer mobility features. These moving spin bikes lean to the right and left side to eliminate the unnatural stress on your joints and increase muscle functions. Magnetic resistance belt drive spin bike features vary and that’s what makes them really different from each other. Other than that, they are all spin bikes with a flywheel, seat, handlebars, and a belt. If you are interested to know which features to look for in the best spin bikes, this magnetic spin bike review, buying guide, and comparison is for you.

Magnetic spin bike squeaking?

If your magnetic spin bike is squeaking, there are a few things you can do to try and fix the issue. First, check to see if any of the bolts or screws are loose. Tightening them may help reduce the squeaking. You can also try lubricating the parts that are making noise with WD-40 or a similar product, it might be wheel bearings that squeaks, not the resistance. If this doesn’t work try to clean the magnets from metal debris and make sure the magnets are aligned. They shouldn’t be touch the flywheel. If neither of these solutions works, you may need to replace some of the parts on your bike.

Where to buy spin bike with magnetic resistance?

There are a few different places that you can buy spin bikes with magnetic resistance. One option is to purchase them from sporting goods stores or online retailers. You can find a magnetic resistance spin bike for sale on Amazon.com. Just search for “spin bike with magnetic resistance.” Most of the best affordable magnetic resistance spin bike models that come up in the search will have a flywheel that creates the resistance. Another option is to check with your local gym or fitness center; many of them have second hand spin bikes available for rent or for purchase. Finally, you could also look into purchasing a used spin bike from someone who is no longer using it.


Best spin bike brands

Brands:

Due to the exceptional benefits of spin bikes and their popularity around the world, there are many fitness equipment brands manufacturing all types of spin bikes. So, it’s understandable if you want to find out which indoor fitness brands make top-notch home and gym spin bikes. Without further ado let’s find out our list of the best spin bike brands.

Best spin bike review
Keiser spin bike

This indoor fitness equipment company has been on the market for over 40 years building their machines completely in the USA. They have three lines of fitness equipment machines. Keiser exercise machines include strength products, functional training machines, and last but not least, our favorite Keiser M3 cardio bikes.

The cardio series includes four Kaiser spin bikes that are designed for commercial use. If you are looking for spin bikes for gyms or at-home use, get yourself a Keiser M Series belt drive spin bike. These belt drive indoor exercise bike units are interactive, rear-drive, lightweight, and magnetic.

Matrix IC7 spin bike
ICG spin bikes

For the last 45 years, Life Fitness has been innovating machines to encourage people to lead an active life. Their lines of fitness machines include treadmills, ellipticals, upright bikes, recumbents, climbers, rowers strength machines, and indoor cycles.

The Life fitness indoor cycles powered by ICG are some of the best commercial spin bikes in 2022. They are also some of the most expensive indoor bikes available on the market due to their advanced technology. They are known as ICG indoor cycles and Life Fitness ICG indoor cycling bikes. These commercial-grade spin bikes feature full interactive computers that present the next generation of indoor cycling. Currently, the best bike by this brand is the Life Fitness IC8.

Schwinn magnetic indoor cycling bike review
Schwinn spin bikes

Found in the 19th century, the Schwinn is an American icon that has been building some of the world’s best-known indoor cycling bikes and outdoor bicycles. As far as the indoor fitness equipment goes, Schwinn makes them all. In fact, some of the market’s best-seller upright exercise bikes, recumbent machines, and spin bikes are made by Schwinn Fitness.

Their outdoor rides include cruisers, mountain bikes, comfortable and versatile hybrids, road bikes, and top-rated spin bikes for home and gym use. For 2022 the best spin bike by Schwinn is the AC Performance Plus indoor bike with Carbon Blue belt drive and smart release system. And the winner for the best mid-price Schwinn product is the IC4 spin bike. There are also other Schwinn magnetic resistance spin bike models such as Sport and IC3 bikes.

Sunny spin bike, Best magnetic resistance spin bikes reviews
Sunny spin bikes

Probably the best affordable spin bike on the market is by Sunny Health and Fitness. Sunny home spin bikes made it spinning workout possible for everyone in the last years with their budget, yet durable spin bikes on Amazon. The company operates in Europe and North America providing good spin bikes for home at affordable prices.

In 2017 they added the ASUNA series with the best spin bike features such as belt system, magnetic tension, SPD pedals, and more. What is really good about this best price spin bike brand is their unbeatable prices and spare part availability. Currently, one of the best spin bikes for home by Sunny is the ASUNA Minotaur indoor bike. Ordering this Sunny bike from Amazon, you get fast free shipping.

Echelon Indoor Bikes

Echelon indoor cycling bike reviews

With only five indoor cycling bikes, Echelon has been able to build a reputation for itself among many indoor spinners. Unlike cheap spin bike brands, Echelon pays a great deal of attention to their belt drive magnetic indoor cycling bikes.

This spin bike brand was originally found in 2017 to help as many as possible to achieve their fitness goals. They gained a good name in the fitness industry with their rowing machine, and Echelon exercise stationary bikes. The cheapest magnetic resistance spin bike by this brand is the EX15 which costs around $499 and comes with Bluetooth technology.

Mad Dogg Athletics Spin Bikes

Mad Dogg

It’s the company that originally used the word “spin, spin fitness, spinner and spinning” for their indoor bikes and spinning classes. This indoor cycling brand has over 200000 spin class instructors and has been able to reach millions of indoor cycling enthusiasts in over 80 countries worldwide.

Mad Dogg Athletics manufactures Spinner bikes, Pilates, and functional training equipment in addition to a complete line of spinning accessories. Mad Dogg spin bikes fall into two categories, commercial and at-home spin bikes. The Active series and the Performace series with 7 indoor cycling bikes are for home use.

And the Commercial Series with one bike offers indoor biking exercise for health clubs. Currently, the best spin bikes on the market by Mad Dogg Athletics are the Spinner P5 for home gyms and the Spinner Chrono that features commercial quality and retails at $2200.

Peloton indoor bike

Peloton community

Thanks to the Peloton spinning App, the Peloton Original Bike and Peloton Bike+ have become one of the world’s most popular magnetic spin bikes. Often referred to as the best spin bike training app, the Platoon offers up to 14 live rides every day. Buying a Peloton, you get the best spin bike computer that offers in-depth ride metrics and allows group workouts at home with elite spinning indoor cycling instructors.

Exercising with a Platoon spin bike never gets old because of the diverse variety of rides. What puts Peloton in nearly every best spin bikes reviews is it’s 21.5″ full HD multi-touch screen and it’s WiFi, ANT+, Ethernet, and Bluetooth connectivity capabilities. Note that the cycling App subscription costs $39 extra per month.


Final Word on Magnetic Spin Bikes

According to some of the world’s best fitness experts and health professionals, indoor spinning is one of the best workouts at home. Spin bikes provide a challenging HIIT and steady cardio workout for beginners as well as the world’s elite athletes. It doesn’t matter what your fitness level is. If you think you can mount the bike and lean forward to reach the handle, spinning workout is for you.

It will remarkably improve your performance and help you quickly get in shape. There are many cheap indoor cycling bikes that you can buy and get the benefits of spinning. Having said that, don’t buy a spin bike with lack of adjustment and poor construction just because it’s a few bucks cheaper.

We picked these magnetic spin bikes because we know for sure, they are good and worth the money. And if you buy them, make sure your magnetic indoor cycling bike is regularly maintained. If your spin bike doesn’t have the belt, regularly oil the chain, see if it’s loose and needs adjustment. Also, check all the bolts to make sure they are not loose and always wipe off the sweat from your bike after spinning workout.

If you are not buying spin bikes reviewed in this article and you are buying directly your spin bike on Amazon or other retailers, we suggest you double-check the features to prevent unwanted scenarios. Because recently Your Exercise Bike Team noticed many sellers are advertising their bikes as magnetic stationary exercise bikes or magnetic spin bikes while they are either wool or leather friction. We have reported a few of these cycling exercise bikes on the retailer platforms but it might take time before they remove the incorrect information. In the meantime, you can rest assured that all the Amazon spin bikes that we included in this spin bike review come with magnetic resistance.

50 Comments
  1. I was wondering your opinion on the Asuna Minotaur compared to the Sunny SF-B1805. Both seem very equal in features but the Asuna is a much higher price point and trying to understand if it’s worth the extra $.

  2. I am a bit confused about whether you are finding the Efitment IC031 to be a better bike than the IC033. The 33 seems like an upgrade, though the reviews aren’t quite as good on Amazon. And you are suggesting the 31 as a top model for 2019. But your review of the 33 seems to suggest it as well.

    Given the mere $20 price difference on Amazon, can you clarify if you have a suggestion of one over the other?

    Thanks.

    • Hi Reuben,
      I see they changed the prices for both of these Efitment bikes. Last I remember there was around $100 price differences but as you said, now it’s only $20.

      So, I would recommend the IC033 instead of IC031.

      Just to be clear, the IC031 was our favorite magnetic model under $400 and the IC033 under $500.

      Note that neither of these bikes will be our top pick for under $500 for 2019 and soon we will be updating our buying guides. They will remain the top MAGNETIC spin bikes under $500 but not our top spin bike picks for under $500.

      We have decided to pick the Schwinn IC3 for the best spin bike under $500. It’s not magnetic but it has tons of great features. The Schwinn IC3 is fully adjustable, features SPD pedals, excellent racing seat, great warranty, heavy PERIMETER WEIGHTED flywheel, ergonomic handlebars with built in water bottle holder, belt drive and a really unique LCD computer. It has wireless chest strap connectivity and tracks the RPM.

      I would highly personally recommend the IC3 over both of these Efitment indoor cycling bikes. You can read more about Schwinn IC3 here.

      Let me know if you have any other question.

      • Awesome. Thanks! This really helps.

        • I am glad I was helpful Reuben.

          You are always welcome to ask your questions and I will answer them to the best of my knowledge as soon as I can.

          You might also want to consider a pair or padded spinning shorts to prevent chafing. There are at least 7 types of cycling short including breathable padded underwear that can be used for spinning workout. If you think you will need them, (which I believe you will), read this cycling shorts for men or this cycling short for womenbuying guides.

        • Hi Reuben,
          I am not sure if you already bought a spin bike, but if you haven’t, you may want to check out the Sunny Health and Fitness indoor cycle Evolution Pro. It’s on Offer for today only, January 2nd, 2019.

        • wonderful, insightful reviews. and some of the only reviews with q-factor specs. fyi, the sunny evo pro now has a 215mm q-factor, as does i think the 5100, and the efitment ico33 has a wider q-factor than the earlier ico31. i queried on amazon for the q-factor of the schwinn ic3 and the answer was in excess of 200mm. i have knee issues and q-factors are a stat i am looking at. i was wondering about sunny h&f’s strategy to go to wider q-factors even on existing models that were previously praised for their low q-factors. was looking at the evo pro or 5100, now looking at the 7100 sabre, which they also seemed to have widened, but not to 200+mm. again, thank you!

        • Hi Joseph
          Thanks for the comment. You are right, the Q-factor for Sunny Health and Spin bikes needs to be updated.

          The listed q factors for sunny bikes are what we received from the company last year but apparently it was inaccurate because they recently changed the Q-factor information for all their bikes.

          Here is the updated list of Q-factors for Sunny magnetic bikes in this review:
          Evolution Pro = 216mm
          ASUNA 5100 = 216mm
          ASUNA 7100 = 184mm

          As for Schwinn IC3, I wasn’t able to confirm the Q-factor from the company but looking at the other Schwinn exercise bike models, I believe the IC3 has a standard q-factor.

          In general, up to 200mm q-factor is safe and comfortable for indoor cycling. I used a Keiser bike (197mm) for years and never had an issue.

          But if you need narrower q-factor, I recommend you take a look at the IC4 spin bike. It has a 155mm q-factor, features an ergonomic and professional design, magnetic resistance, excellent warranty, racing style adjustable seat and handlebars, easy to reach dual water bottle holders, belt drive, and SPD pedals. It is by Life Fitness, one of the fitness industry leaders and retails for a reasonable price.

          Click on this link, the third paragraph is highlighted for the IC4 bike.

          Let us know how it goes, and if you find a good magnetic spin bike with narrow q factor for affordable prices.

          Best,

          Your Exercise Bike Team

  3. Can you link the bike computer?

    • Hi Sarah
      Thanks for stopping by. I probably forgot, here is the link for the bike computers .

      Please let me know if you think you might need help choosing the right computer for your bike!

      Best,

      Your Exercise Bike Team

  4. Excellent reviews, I learnt quite a few things here but what I don’t understand is why people worry so much about the q factor. I normally stand with 10-12 inches feet apart but why should I keep my feet 6″ apart on the bike?

    I bought the Evolution Pro a few weeks back when it was on offer ($450) and despite its 8-inch q factor I love this spin bike. It is near to silent and feels great.

    Can you let me know what shorts you recommend for spin exercise?

    Thanks

    • Hi Marco,
      Thanks for stopping by, we love hearing your thoughts.

      One thing to keep in mind is that the shape of your body is also a factor when looking for the right q-factor. For instance, if you have wide hips, it is better for you to consider a bike with the 7″+ q factor. But if you have narrow hips, the bikes with narrower q factors are better for you.

      Yes, I remember the Sunny Health and Fitness Evolution Pro magnetic belt drive cycle was on offer a few weeks ago. It is a solid spin bike, we have had a few readers telling us they really liked how smooth and quiet the bike is.

      There are several types of padded cycling shorts to wear for spinning workout, they all have their pros and cons. Click on the links to read more about the men spinning shorts and women cycling shorts.

      Good luck

  5. I hope I made the right decision ordering the Efitment C033 at $380 off their site. Now reading your Schwinn IC3 review I am worried I made the wrong decision. Any thoughts?

    • Hi Adriana,
      Thanks for stopping by.

      For $380, C033 indoor cycling bike is a good deal! There is no other belt drive magnetic spin bike on the market that can beat that price. Normally, the Efitment C033 indoor cycle is $450.

      I don’t think you made a bad decision.

      However, I would personally still go for the Schwinn IC3 exercise bike because for me the sport seat, ergonomic handlebars, spd pedals, chest strap connectivity, warranty, and perimeter weighted flywheel are more important than the just magnetic resistance.

      Good luck with the C033 and please do let us and our readers know your experience with Efitment C033 bike.

  6. Would you recommend the Schwinn IC3 over the Sunny B1805? I was deciding between the Efitment IC033 and the Sunny B1805 (I like the big area for a tablet) but your IC3 recommendation over the Efitment threw me for a curve. I’ve read reviews online that the IC3 makes a lot of noise with its friction resistence. One reviewer found a fix by applying silicone lubricant to the fly wheel. That’s why I was looking for a solid magnetic resistance bike but without all the computer frills to keep the cost down. Other reviewers complained about the display on the Schwinn as well.

    I’m leaning towards the B1805 ($599) but can also pick up the IC3 ($499) at the local Dick’s and avoid all the shipping horrors others have had with online purchases. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

    • Hi Dave

      If you prefer a magnetic spin bike and the lack of computer is not a big deal for you, I would suggest the Sunny B1805 over Efitment IC033. It has larger magnets that cover both sides of the flywheel rather than only on top of the flywheel. Therefore, it provides a more challenging resistance than Efitment bikes. It is also sturdier featuring higher inseam and weight capacity. In addition to what I mentioned, it also has larger floor stabilizers to avoid rocking during intense workout and the levers for seat and handlebar adjustment which is more convenient than knobs.

      I also believe the Sunny Health and Fitness is a more reliable brand in terms of providing replacement parts, customer support and services.

      Thanks for reading and sharing our articles and leaving your opinions and comments.

      We are always happy to help our readers with their question and concerns or if they need us to compare their favorite bikes so it is easier for them to make the final decision.

      Please let us know if you have any question.

  7. I’d prefer the magnetic resistance but how about the Schwinn IC3 vs the Sunny B1805? I’m a newbie to spinning so your advice is greatly appreciated. Magnetic or not, I’d still want a solid bike in my price range.

    • Hi Dave,
      You are very welcome, I am happy to help.

      They are both solid spin bikes and good value for the money.

      But I would personally choose the Schwinn IC3 because it has the SPD pedals, convenient bottle holders, RPM wireless monitor, better seat and costs $100 less.

      However, if I lived in a small apartment or I thought I might sometimes workout early mornings or late evenings when my partner or next door neighbor is resting, I would pick the Sunny B1805. It is smoother and quieter than IC3 cycle because it has the magnetic resistance.

      Let me know how it goes and which one you go with.

      Good luck man

  8. Spin bike so many brands and price points, after reading a lot I think a belt drive with magnetic resistance is what I am looking for. Planning to use it with peleton app. I read a lot of reviews saying kieser m3 is the best and the sunny SF-B1709 looks exactly the same.

    Let me know what you think of this bike ? Any suggestions on other better one at similar price point ?

    Also what are your views on spin bike vs air dyne type fan bikes ?

    • Hi Chinmay,

      I recommend the Sunny Health and Fitness SF-B1709. It costs one-third of M3 featuring belt driven system combined with magnetic resistance and even more importantly, a high ratio fast flywheel. On top of that, the Sunny SF-B1709 has a fully adjustable handlebar which is missing on Keiser M3.

      In fact, I no longer recommend the Keiser M3, instead, I suggest our readers to consider the keiser M3i. For $200 more, the M3i offers Bluetooth connectivity, tablet holder and a fully adjustable handlebars.

      Note: Keiser M3 is a really durable bike but it has lack of handlebar adjustment (only vertically adjustable) which offers limited user inseam accommodation (5’1 to 6’2″). So, if you are taller or shorter than the mentioned heights, you can not set up the bike comfortably for you. In general lack of handlebar horizontal adjustment is not a huge issue but for spin bikes like the M3 indoor cycle with the V-shape (offset) frame design, it can be a deal breaker.

      My suggestion on another spin bike at similar price point is the ProForm Studio Pro. This bike is relatively new on the market featuring a truly unique 10″ touch-screen computer with Bluetooth and WiFi connectivity, belt drivetrain, built-in programs, and Smart electro-magnetic resistance. With this ProForm bike, for the first year, you can save the $350 Peloton membership because it comes with one year FREE iFit membership.

      Airdyne type fan provide full body workout (not mainly lower body like spin bikes) and due to their upright design, they are more comfortable and have less-impact than spin bikes. They are excellent for interval workouts (1 to 3 times weekly use) and really efficient when it is mixed with weight training and other types of exercises. But they can be annoyingly loud and boring compared to spin bikes since you need to remain seated during the entire exercise.

      I hope it helps

  9. Thanks a lot. I got the pro-form bike with 1 year subscription. Will update once I get it and use it for some time. Thanks a lot for your help

    • You are always welcome Chinmay,
      You can also search our websites for the best spinning clothing (shorts and shoes) and accessories (mats and tablet holder).

      Looking forward to hearing your experience with the ProForm Studio Bike Pro.

  10. Ok, so I guess I’m down to the SF-B1805 and the SF-B1714. Having trouble distinguishing between the two. I like the tablet holder and don’t really care about a low end built in computer.

    Although your IC3 suggestion threw me. Magnetic seemed the way to go, as I’ve read complaints about squeaking on that model. You prefer the IC3 over those two models?

    • Hi Bob thanks for stopping by

      The SF-B1714 has 2 advantages while SF-B1805 has 3 advantages. So, I would recommend the SF-B1805 as it is cheaper, has narrower q-factor and equipped with tablet holder. But if you weigh above 250 pounds, I suggest you consider the SF-b1805 as it is more durable.

      SF-B1714 Advantages:

      SF-b1714 has 4 adjustable Foot Levelers for stability of the machine to your floors.
      SF-b1805 has 2 adjustable Foot Levelers for stability of the machine to your floors.
      SF-B1714 Max weight capacity is 330 lb.
      SF-B1805 Max weight capacity is 300 lb.

      SF-B1805 Advantages:

      SF-B1805 Q-Factor is 182 mm.
      SF-B1714 Q-factor is 216 mm.
      SF-B1805 is equipped with a built-in tablet holder.
      SF-B1714 is not equipped with a built-in tablet holder.
      SF-B1805 is around $590.
      SF-B1714 is around $650.

      As for the Schwinn IC3, I like it because of its monitor and SPD pedals, but since basic monitor is not an important factor for you, I suggest you go with one of the two magnetic bikes listed above.

      I hope it helps

  11. Great, thank you. I’m hoping Amazon gets them back in stock soon.

    • You are welcome Bob

      It is one of the best sellers, I am sure it is going to be available soon.

      If you have any other question, leave a comment here.
      We are always happy to help.

  12. How does Maxkare magnetic resistance bike compare to Sunny SF-b1714 and SF-b1805 bikes? Is it really worth paying the extra 200-300 dollars for the Sunny bikes?

    • Hi Navneet, the answer to your question is no because I don’t see any major difference between those two Sunny bikes and the MaxKare Black magnetic bike so there is no reason for anyone to pay the extra money.

      I hope it helps

  13. HI! These are great reviews, thank you!

    I’m having a lot of trouble deciding between the Joroto x2, the MaxKare, and Sunny 8105. Since they all are magnetic, all have belt drives… just wondering about if its worth spending more for the Joroto or Sunny. And if so… which one?

    I’m used to studio cycling, not outdoor, so want to be able to replicate that best at home (on a budget….)

    Any help would be appreciated thank you!!!!

    • Hello Hillary, thanks for dropping by and sorry for the late response, we have all been pretty busy recently.

      For two main reasons, currently, Sunny 8105 is the better option:

      First, the new version of Maxkare flywheel weighs 30 lbs which is less than the older version (40 lbs) and it costs nearly $400 now.
      And the second reason is that the price for Joroto X2 has jumped up to $500 which was less than $330 until a month ago.

      On the other hand, the price and all the features for Sunny 8105 have remained the same ($580 and 44 lbs flywheel).

      So, to answer your question, I recommend the Sunny Health and Fitness 8105 magnetic indoor cycle over the Maxkare and Joroto X2, at least for now.

      If in the future these indoor bikes come back to their original prices $300, I will recommend them because I don’t believe the Sunny 8105 has enough superior features to justify the additional $300.

      I hope it helps

      Best,

      Your Exercise Bike Team

  14. How is the hmc bike? Is good for people who are 6 4″

    • Hello Paul, thanks for stopping by

      HMC is a very sturdy indoor bike and the value is excellent! I believe this spin bike can fit riders up to 6’4″ without any problem

      I hope it helps

      Best

      YEB Team

  15. Spin bikes are definitely the best bike for home workout sessions. I love seeing magnetic spin bike options.

    • Hello Brittney, thanks for stopping by

      Magnetic spin bikes are pretty fun, especially when used with cycling applications such as Peloton, Zwift, iFit, Echelon, and many other indoor cycling apps. And thank you, we try our best to make sure we regularly find, update, and review the top magnetic resistance indoor cycling bikes on the market!

  16. Very useful information and factors to consider before purchasing your own spin bike.

    • Thanks a lot, Julia, indoor cycling is our passion and our dedicated team is committed to providing the most useful information regarding spin bikes and cycling indoor.

      If you ever need help choosing your next indoor cycling bike, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us via comment or email

  17. I am in the market for a SPIN bike and decided to do comparison to the Peloton. I didn’t want to speed a bunch of money on a Spin bike before I knew that I really was going to use it. Thanks for sharing!

    • Peloton is a great bike as long as you don’t mind paying for its heavy application subscription. If that’s not something you want to do, I suggest you check out the lesser expensive bikes such as Schwinn IC4 or the Bowflex C7. Aside from their affordable price, what makes these two indoor bikes particularly good is their ability to connect to pretty much any cycling application that you like, unlike Peloton bike that connects to the Peloton app.

  18. I’m impressed with your exercise bike reviews due to their comprehensive analysis of each bike. If you want to invest in your health with a stationary bike or a magnetic spin bike, you want the best product at the best price. On a different note, I notice that this article mentions you can build muscle riding a bike. Are there any bikes that are better-suited for this?

    • Hello Kyle,

      Thanks a lot, we try to keep our spin bike reviews accurate and up to date! And I spend hours every day to make sure our readers get the best value for their money. I agree with you 100%, if you are going for a spin bike, you should only aim for the ones with magnetic resistance because they are near-silent, have less maintenance, and offer a smooth indoor cycling experience which I always found more enjoyable than friction resistance spin bikes.

      Magnetic spin bikes or exercise bikes, in general, are great for cardio and building lower body muscles, and you can get these fitness benefits from any of the models reviewed in this article. However, if budget is not your main concern, I would suggest you go for Bowflex C7, Nordictrack S22i, or keris M3i. They are state of art magnetic resistance stationary bikes that come with good warranties, US-based customer support, and lots of features to enjoy.

  19. I’ve always enjoyed exercising on a stationary bike, but I keep hearing good things about magnetic spin bikes. Quick question, is there any way to customize my seat for extra padding? The only bad thing for exercising on a bike is that seats tend to be uncomfortable after 10-15 minutes.

    • Hello Karl, thanks for stopping by

      Using stationary bikes at home a great way to stay healthy and one of the lowest impact exercises to do at home. The magnetic resistance system is the present and future of indoor cycling due to the fact that they are near-to-silent, smoother than friction resistance, and require no maintenance.

      As for your question, the answer is yes. There are three solutions to an uncomfortable spin bike seat; #1 You simply change the seat with a more padded seat (preferably a gel seat). #2 You can wear padded cycling shorts for extra support and to prevent chafing. #3 You can add a seat cover (again, preferably a gel seat cover), it’s the cheapest solution and in most cases, this would resolve the problem.

      For me, adding a gel seat cover and wearing padded cycling short resolve the problem and now I can spend up to 50 minutes on the bike without feeling uncomfortable. I hope it helps

  20. The Keiser M3i magnetic indoor bike bundle is indeed expensive when you first look at it. But if you consider the level of quality it has and the fact that this will last a very, very long time, it’s well worth it. It’s an investment for sure but a good one if you want high quality and lots of features.

  21. I own a Bowflex IC7 magnetic resistance spin bike and I’m happy with what it can do. Its monitor is indeed very nice and the frame and all other parts look and feel high-quality. Been using it for 5 months, almost daily and it looks like new.

    • Thank you for your positive review of the Bowflex C7 magnetic indoor bike, Liam. We’re glad to hear that you are enjoying it and that it is meeting your needs. We appreciate your feedback and hope to continue serving you in the future.

  22. Thanks YEB for your great in-depth reviews and explanations of the technologies used in exercise bikes, very helpful!

    I’m wondering about the maximum resistance of the magnetic resistance bikes, is it enough to simulate steep hill workouts for advanced bikers? I’ve been reading the reviews of some of these bikes and some reviewers say they can still pedal sitting at maximum resistance, which would indicate it’s not enough resistance for a hill climb (I assume these are not pro athletes).

    I’m looking for a dedicated indoor bike option with good ergonomics and resistance without any of the extras to keep costs in check. I like the idea of little maintenance of the magnetic resistance but would like to have the option of an intense hill climb and I cannot find much information about the maximum resistance magnets will offer.

    • Hi Alex, thank you, it always makes us happy to see our readers find our website helpful.

      One of major complaints with magnetic resistance is that you don’t have 100% control over maximum and minimum resistance, unless good with tools and are willing to do modification/adjustments.

      As for your question to simulate steep hill, it’s possible, but not with all magnetic resistance spin bikes. There are magnetic indoor bikes that come with proper maximum and minimum resistance so you wouldn’t need to adjust the resistance rod for extra resistance. One of those bikes is the Bowflex C7 which I listed in this article. It’s a good value bike, especially now at $999. It gives plenty of resistance to simulate steep hill rides. Another great thing about this indoor bike is that it ships from and sold by Amazon. So, if you don’t like it or if bike breaks while under warranty, you don’t have to deal with the brand and wait for them for weeks while they make excuses and come up with time-consuming unhelpful solutions. You just contact Amazon and they will come pick it up and refund you in no time.

      I would really appreciate it if you let me know here in the comment section which one you choose and your personal experience with the bike.

      Thanks,

      Sayed

  23. This is such a great comprehensive article on the best magnetic spin bikes. This makes researching and deciding so much easier for me. I specifically like the comparing chart with the different bikes and the tips on choosing magnetic bikes. There are a lot of things I didn’t know before, that I’m glad I know now. Thank you so much for providing your research and comparison on magnetic spin bikes!

  24. You have done the explanation and comparison really well. We purchased a Sunny B1805 Belt Drive Magnetic Indoor Cycle bike two months ago as it was the best option for me at a reasonable price. It’s simple and I guess that anyone can do the Installation easily. But there is no spinning computer to track workouts as you said. Once I began using it, I realized how essential it was. So, I had to buy a monitor as well as a gel seat cover. because the seat is also uncomfortable. But If I had read this article before, I would have brought KOUZ LIVE Magnetic Resistance Indoor Bike.

Leave a reply

Your Exercise Bike
Logo